How to create a symbol?

Please use this part to report bugs & errors, ask questions & "How to..."
cyrus rebello

How to create a symbol?

Post by cyrus rebello »

Alright, let me explain what i'm trying to achieve
here is the character looping animation:
Image (Ignore the sketch layer behind it)
the character's hair and hoodie are moving up and down in the loop
Now here's the tricky part:

You see, i have 2 layers, one line art (the looping animation) and one for color

(Keep in mind that the color layer is not yet finished, as shown in the picture, so it isn't extended to full 4 frames like the line art frames)
(Just to clarify, the color layer is the coloring of the lineart one)

Now, what i want to do is:
tween both of them to move downwards for a x amount of frames
but the only way i know how to achieve this is moving both of the frames of the layers into a symbol and then tweening that entire symbol as a whole

I am no expert in tvpaint, please keep things brief and easy to understand.
Attachments
Teaser.tvpp
The file it's self for ref
(24.38 MiB) Downloaded 934 times
Last edited by cyrus rebello on 05 Apr 2017, 12:46, edited 1 time in total.
slowtiger

Re: How to create a symbol?

Post by slowtiger »

1. Put the 4 frames into a separate layer.
2. Open Keyframer FX, go to Render tab. Choose that new layer as source, set post behaviour to Repeat/Loop.
3. Create an empty layer as long as you need it.
4. Go to Position tab. Create a key at the first position (just press the first C button). Go to end frame. Grab little square handle and drag to desired position - key is created automatically.
5. Select all frames of new layer and press "Apply".

See Keyframer FX in Manual.
TVP 10.0.18 and 11.0 MacPro Quadcore 3GHz 16GB OS 10.6.8 Quicktime 7.6.6
TVP 11.0 and 11.7 MacPro 12core 3GHz 32GB OS 10.11 Quicktime 10.7.3
TVP 11.7 Mac Mini M2pro 32GB OS 13.5
cyrus rebello

Post by cyrus rebello »