Which software is right for me?

Please use this part to report bugs & errors, ask questions & "How to..."
Jazzzy

Which software is right for me?

Post by Jazzzy »

Hello folks!

I'm Rubén from Spain and I have been looking into TVPaint for quite a while.
I'm working on a game development project and I want to use traditional animation for all the sprites and backgrounds. I have some experience working with photoshop with my cintiq but animating in it seems kind of painful compared to TVPaint.

I wanted to ask you if TVP is the right tool for me. I'm mostly interested in raster based graphics, not a big fan of vectors. I know there must be are a few more tools that could fit the bill and since is quite the investment I felt like I should ask first.

Don't treat this as asking for the "Yes pls get TVP" answer that it seems I'm asking for being on this particular forum. I have read very objective opinions on this forum, even if you have bad things to say about the software so It seems like a great place to ask, especially since I would try to get the student version (maybe the prof. one if necessary) and that is an important amount of money to me.

Thanks a lot for your time!

Cheers!

Rubén
slowtiger

Re: Which software is right for me?

Post by slowtiger »

Hi Rubén,

I will definitely recommend TVPaint for animation since you want to achieve a traditional look and feel. Of course other animation software could do more or less the same, while being more or less comfortable to use, but that's a matter of personal taste, and TVP has the advantage of being customizable to a high degree.