"Bad File" Message When Opening a Specific File - Any Solutions? Topic is solved

Please use this part to report bugs & errors, ask questions & "How to..."
Dax Schaffer

"Bad File" Message When Opening a Specific File - Any Solutions?

Post by Dax Schaffer »

Hello, this is my first time posting in these forums, so I hope I'm going about this correctly. I am currently coloring a short film for a client in the most recent version of TVPaint. When opening a shot I had prepped for another artist, it told me that this was a "bad file" with two options of stop or continue. Both buttons yield the same result: a version of the file missing many layers and frames of what is supposed to be there. Is there a solution for this? I've glanced through some other posts and apparently sending the file directly for analysis is sometimes an option? I have asked the other artist to see if they are able to open the file on their end, but am still waiting to hear back. I think duplicating the project from within TVP is a kind of solution, but only if you still had the file open before closing, which I do not.

I have previous versions of the scene that will open, but this one had several hours of progress over the previous versions, so not having to redo lost work would be appreciated.

Thank you very much and have a great weekend!
~Dax
"Animation is about creating the illusion of life. And you can't create it if you don't have one." - Brad Bird
o0Ampy0o

Re: "Bad File" Message When Opening a Specific File - Any Solutions?

Post by o0Ampy0o »

When something like this happens cancel then make a copy of the file and work with the copy. Protect the original or you could make it worse.

Can they send you another file?

Are you both using the latest version of TVPaint?

If they are on a newer version than you they would be able to open your file but when they sent you a file saved on their system you might not be able to open it.