RAM usage while exporting

Please use this part to report bugs & errors, ask questions & "How to..."
Post Reply
User avatar
JQuinn
Posts: 114
Joined: 05 Oct 2015, 12:59
Contact:

RAM usage while exporting

Post by JQuinn » 21 Sep 2017, 12:06

Hi there,

I started exporting a scene from TVPaint and was wondering why it seemed to be taking ages, so I opened Activity Monitor to see that TVPaint is only using 1.84 GB or RAM when there is 64 GB installed in the computer. I tried changing the cache settings in preferences from Auto to Manual but it hasn't made a difference, it's still only using 1.85 GB of RAM.

Is there a way to force TVPaint to use more RAM another way?

Thanks!
http://www.berylproductions.co.uk
TVP 11 pro - Mac Pro Quad Core - Cintiq touch 22"

User avatar
Elodie
Site Admin
Posts: 13298
Joined: 06 Jan 2009, 09:53
Location: Metz

Re: RAM usage while exporting

Post by Elodie » 21 Sep 2017, 12:23

Hi Joanna ! Nice to hear from you :)

Cache has no connection with export : Cache is the extra memory that TVPaint uses to have a quick access to images, display, etc.... while you are using at it. It helps it to be used faster.

Now regarding export, I know the code has been improved to render images the fastest. However, even with a very powerful computer there is still an incompressible amount of time (even a few seconds) that is necessary. I will ask a developer to give you more details, I must admit it's a little beyond my knowledge :)

Take care !
Elodie
Questions or problems regarding the forum ? Please contact me by PM
Question regarding TVPaint or need a quotation ? Please contact me by email

User avatar
Eric Scholl
Site Admin
Posts: 1240
Joined: 04 Apr 2011, 14:40

Re: RAM usage while exporting

Post by Eric Scholl » 21 Sep 2017, 12:38

Hi Joanna,

Export time depends on a lot of things and the amount of RAM used is not one of these.
It depends on the dimensions of your project, the length of your project, the format and options used to export and the power of your computer.

Can you give us these informations so we can help you to figure out what is slowing down your export ?
Eric Scholl, TVPaint Team.

User avatar
JQuinn
Posts: 114
Joined: 05 Oct 2015, 12:59
Contact:

Re: RAM usage while exporting

Post by JQuinn » 21 Sep 2017, 13:22

Ah, thanks for the clarification!

Project dimension: 2880 x 1620 pixels
Length: 123 frames
10 layers of scanned images (PNGs) with Basic scan cleaner used on them
Export settings: we are using a script someone on here recommended which exports all the layers of the project into folders and reimports them into After Effects with the same settings as the TVPaint file. It's saving us so much time as we don't have to export each layer individually to rebuild in After Effects (some scenes have 70 layers when they have colour and matte layers!) , but the only thing is that it doesn't give an option to set export settings, so that's the only downside.
Computer: Late 2013 Mac Pro with 64GB RAM, 3.5 GHz 6-Core processor, 64 bit version of TVPaint, OS X 10.9.5

Let me know if you need any more info :)

Thanks!
http://www.berylproductions.co.uk
TVP 11 pro - Mac Pro Quad Core - Cintiq touch 22"

User avatar
JQuinn
Posts: 114
Joined: 05 Oct 2015, 12:59
Contact:

Re: RAM usage while exporting

Post by JQuinn » 21 Sep 2017, 15:02

It's just finished exporting, and it's taken nearly three hours to export 13 layers, whereas a previous export of the same scene with 85 total layers it took one hour. Both were exported to our server which is via the internet, so could that be a factor?

Thanks!
http://www.berylproductions.co.uk
TVP 11 pro - Mac Pro Quad Core - Cintiq touch 22"

User avatar
slowtiger
Posts: 2070
Joined: 08 May 2008, 21:10
Location: berlin, germany
Contact:

Re: RAM usage while exporting

Post by slowtiger » 21 Sep 2017, 21:54

That should definitely be a factor. From hard-earned experience I always export to a local drive, then transfer files to a server.

I haven't used my new machine seriously yet, it has a SSD and I wonder how fast this will make TVP during export.
TVP 10.0.18, Mac Pro Quadcore 3 GHz, 16 GB RAM, OS 10.11, QT 7.7.3

User avatar
Sewie
Posts: 1223
Joined: 18 Jun 2008, 11:57
Location: The Netherlands, Europe
Contact:

Re: RAM usage while exporting

Post by Sewie » 22 Sep 2017, 09:36

PNG export can take very long depending on the compression settings, I've noticed. Especially if the export consists of full color images.
Michael Sewnarain - SewieBlog
Windows 10/64b - TVP11.0.3 - Pro/64b - Cintiq24HD

User avatar
Fabrice
Posts: 9749
Joined: 17 Jul 2007, 15:00
Contact:

Re: RAM usage while exporting

Post by Fabrice » 22 Sep 2017, 12:55

Both were exported to our server which is via the internet, so could that be a factor?
yes, maybe it's not the software that is slow, but the internet connexion and/or the distant server (because of too many request that day, etc.).
Fabrice Debarge, Product Manager, TVPaint Team

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 20 guests