Clean-up

Please use this part to report bugs & errors, ask questions & "How to..."
User avatar
Animationriver
Posts: 61
Joined: 02 Jul 2017, 09:04
Location: Moscow
Contact:

Clean-up

Post by Animationriver » 18 Oct 2017, 10:39

How to make a perfect stroke line for clean-up? :)
(CONVENIENT for the work... like in Illustratore)
Look video please. :)
Attachments
question.jpg
555.mp4
(9.9 MiB) Downloaded 18 times

User avatar
slowtiger
Posts: 2070
Joined: 08 May 2008, 21:10
Location: berlin, germany
Contact:

Re: Clean-up

Post by slowtiger » 18 Oct 2017, 11:09

IMHO this is just normal behaviour of all brushes I use, be it digital or on paper. If I need 2 tapered ends, I do 2 strokes, like I did all my life.
TVP 10.0.18, Mac Pro Quadcore 3 GHz, 16 GB RAM, OS 10.11, QT 7.7.3

User avatar
Animationriver
Posts: 61
Joined: 02 Jul 2017, 09:04
Location: Moscow
Contact:

Re: Clean-up

Post by Animationriver » 18 Oct 2017, 11:52

Hello!
I understand you Slowtiger. I drew a clean line in TVPaint for the scenes. I fully know the work of the instrument. But believe me, drawing an equal line in the illustrator is very convenient. And I have to leave tvpaint for CLEAN-UP, and then come back. Only for the task of CLEAN-UP-tvpaint today - weak .. I'm interested: Developers stopped? The tool is complete or it is worth hoping for development to the level of convenience as in Illustrator ???

User avatar
Fabrice
Posts: 9746
Joined: 17 Jul 2007, 15:00
Contact:

Re: Clean-up

Post by Fabrice » 18 Oct 2017, 12:00

Have you played with the linesmoothing ?
There is always room for improvement anyway.
Fabrice Debarge, Product Manager, TVPaint Team

User avatar
Animationriver
Posts: 61
Joined: 02 Jul 2017, 09:04
Location: Moscow
Contact:

Re: Clean-up

Post by Animationriver » 18 Oct 2017, 12:21

YES! I completely mastered the instrument. All its potential.
To draw an animation the tool is very strong and flexible.
But. I had to draw a lot with one line in Tvpaint. A lot of days.
When I moved to Illustrator - it was a different level. The connection between the hand and the instrument is one level higher. The line is strong, sure, one line from beginning to end. Perhaps this property is vector graphics.

TVPAINT CLEAN-UP
[youtube]https://youtu.be/sV1imtczc0w[/youtube]


Illustrator CLEAN-UP
[youtube]https://youtu.be/JY9S-Rf2Fpg[/youtube]
Attachments
tvpaint bull.jpg
illustratore cat.jpg
illustratore cat.jpg (93.34 KiB) Viewed 506 times
Last edited by Animationriver on 18 Oct 2017, 12:29, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
slowtiger
Posts: 2070
Joined: 08 May 2008, 21:10
Location: berlin, germany
Contact:

Re: Clean-up

Post by slowtiger » 18 Oct 2017, 12:22

I'm pretty fast with cleanup and inbetweens, it's just a matter of training, I think. I rotate the drawings often or flip the view, if you put this on a keystroke, you're much faster in TVP than switching to other progams.

Vector programs have it easier since you can define an overall value for tampered lines, which will get aplied to beginning and end AFTER you draw. Bitmap programs don't work this way, they just translate your exact pressure to line thickness.
TVP 10.0.18, Mac Pro Quadcore 3 GHz, 16 GB RAM, OS 10.11, QT 7.7.3

User avatar
Animationriver
Posts: 61
Joined: 02 Jul 2017, 09:04
Location: Moscow
Contact:

Re: Clean-up

Post by Animationriver » 18 Oct 2017, 12:35

slowtiger wrote:
18 Oct 2017, 12:22
I'm pretty fast with cleanup and inbetweens, it's just a matter of training, I think. I rotate the drawings often or flip the view, if you put this on a keystroke, you're much faster in TVP than switching to other progams.

Vector programs have it easier since you can define an overall value for tampered lines, which will get aplied to beginning and end AFTER you draw. Bitmap programs don't work this way, they just translate your exact pressure to line thickness.
Yes. You're right. A brush created in vector graphics is one black ellipse, which then stretches along the path of the brush. The length of the elipse stretching path is determined by the author, not the program. The ellipse has a beginning - thin and sharp and the end - thin and sharp.

User avatar
Animationriver
Posts: 61
Joined: 02 Jul 2017, 09:04
Location: Moscow
Contact:

Re: Clean-up

Post by Animationriver » 18 Oct 2017, 21:23

This is way very convenient and elegant without complicated battles.
(For me. Sorry) I really want such a strong tool in tvpaint. Can you pass this on to the programmers? :idea: :)
Attachments
Снимок экрана 2017-10-19 в 0.05.13.jpg
illustratore clean-up.mp4
(29.31 MiB) Downloaded 14 times

User avatar
Fabrice
Posts: 9746
Joined: 17 Jul 2007, 15:00
Contact:

Re: Clean-up

Post by Fabrice » 19 Oct 2017, 08:02

Can you pass this on to the programmers?
Everything posted is read, stored and debated.
If developers don't reply to each request, it's because they keep working and focusing on other tasks. But it doesn't mean they/we ignore the request. ;)
There is probably something to do regarding your request, don't worry.
Fabrice Debarge, Product Manager, TVPaint Team

User avatar
Animationriver
Posts: 61
Joined: 02 Jul 2017, 09:04
Location: Moscow
Contact:

Re: Clean-up

Post by Animationriver » 19 Oct 2017, 11:05

:D Happy!

User avatar
Peter Wassink
Posts: 3332
Joined: 17 Feb 2006, 15:38
Location: Amsterdam (Basse-Lotharingie)
Contact:

Re: Clean-up

Post by Peter Wassink » 22 Oct 2017, 20:45

you can get this, using the spline tool in tvpaint
set the drawing mode of your pentool to "fade"
this is in the connectionsettings (red circle) and here you also choose the profile for the line , in this example a sinus shaped curve
so all this in the red circle...
tapered-nicely.jpg
tapered-nicely.jpg (41.35 KiB) Viewed 408 times
the drawback is that you have to make a seperate spline for each line/curve
Peter Wassink - 2D animator
• PC: Win10/64 Home - Xeon Quadcore E5410@2.33Ghz - 12Gb RAM
• laptop: Win10/64 Pro - i7-4600@2.1 GHz - 8Gb RAM

User avatar
Animationriver
Posts: 61
Joined: 02 Jul 2017, 09:04
Location: Moscow
Contact:

Re: Clean-up

Post by Animationriver » 23 Oct 2017, 11:31

Peter Wassink wrote:
22 Oct 2017, 20:45
you can get this, using the spline tool in tvpaint
set the drawing mode of your pentool to "fade"
this is in the connectionsettings (red circle) and here you also choose the profile for the line , in this example a sinus shaped curve
so all this in the red circle...

tapered-nicely.jpg

the drawback is that you have to make a seperate spline for each line/curve
Thank you.
This is a good trick.
But the lines using these settings come out very short.
The line does not hold density all the way, it becomes transparent, it does not meet the requirements. :roll:

User avatar
Peter Wassink
Posts: 3332
Joined: 17 Feb 2006, 15:38
Location: Amsterdam (Basse-Lotharingie)
Contact:

Re: Clean-up

Post by Peter Wassink » 23 Oct 2017, 12:37

no, you can also make very longe lines using this method
but the tapering will athen also be longer. according to the profile
so you could consider setting up a couple of different taper-preset buttons in a custompanel for short/medium and long lines.

the transparency can be switched off if you set the power connection to constant
Peter Wassink - 2D animator
• PC: Win10/64 Home - Xeon Quadcore E5410@2.33Ghz - 12Gb RAM
• laptop: Win10/64 Pro - i7-4600@2.1 GHz - 8Gb RAM

User avatar
Animationriver
Posts: 61
Joined: 02 Jul 2017, 09:04
Location: Moscow
Contact:

Re: Clean-up

Post by Animationriver » 23 Oct 2017, 12:44

Peter Wassink wrote:
23 Oct 2017, 12:37
no, you can also make very longe lines using this method
but the tapering will athen also be longer. according to the profile
so you could consider setting up a couple of different taper-preset buttons in a custompanel for short/medium and long lines.

the transparency can be switched off if you set the power connection to constant
I will be grateful if you create a custom panel with such brushes. And share it in this thread with all the users. And maybe the topic will be closed)))
But for the time being I am pleased with the ILLUSTRATOR.
Thanks!

User avatar
D.T. Nethery
Posts: 2077
Joined: 27 Sep 2006, 19:19

Re: Clean-up

Post by D.T. Nethery » 23 Oct 2017, 16:50

Animationriver wrote:
23 Oct 2017, 12:44

But for the time being I am pleased with the ILLUSTRATOR.
How do you flip between drawings in Adobe Illustrator to check for consistency of line placement and the volumes on the drawings ? Maybe I just don't know Illustrator well enough (I don't ever use it) , but it doesn't seem to have a timeline or onion-skinning to be able to flip between drawings to do accurate clean-up and inbetweening (?).

If it works for you , that's good, but I think you can get the same (or almost the same) results by adjusting the brush parameters and using the Line Smoothing option in TVPaint, and also using the technique of carefully erasing out parts of the line to make it thinner/more tapered if necessary. I guess my approach to clean-up is more of traditional approach , the same as I would clean-up with pencil or ink on paper. For digital clean-up with Vector line I think I'd choose to use Moho or Toonboom. There certainly are more options for "adjusting" the line after it has been drawn by manipulating the vector points , but to me that process of pulling vector points around is always so slow and tedious compared to just re-drawing the lines . But to each his own ... whatever works best to get the best results on screen.
MAC OS 10.11.6 , Macbook Pro Retina 15-inch, Mid 2015,
2.5 GHz Intel Core i7, 16 GB Memory , TVPaint PRO 11.0.6, 64bit -
Wacom Cintiq 21 UX - Wacom Intuos Pro 5 - driver version 6.3.20-8

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests