layer blending mode

Please use this part to report bugs & errors, ask questions & "How to..."
Post Reply
User avatar
furushil
Posts: 393
Joined: 12 Feb 2012, 21:02
Location: Berlin
Contact:

layer blending mode

Post by furushil » 30 Nov 2017, 16:27

Hello,

I have a question about the layer blending modes in TVPaint.
In photoshop there is a layer blending mode called "Color"
see here:
color.png
I want to know which mode I should use in TVPaint to get the same result.
MAC OS 10.11.6 - TVpaint 11.0.8 PRO 64bit, Wacom Intuos Pro

User avatar
slowtiger
Posts: 2082
Joined: 08 May 2008, 21:10
Location: berlin, germany
Contact:

Re: layer blending mode

Post by slowtiger » 30 Nov 2017, 16:37

Colorize.

(I just created a PSD file with one layer set to color, opened it in TVP and it had set the layer to the corresponding mode.)
TVP 10.0.18, Mac Pro Quadcore 3 GHz, 16 GB RAM, OS 10.11, QT 7.7.3

User avatar
furushil
Posts: 393
Joined: 12 Feb 2012, 21:02
Location: Berlin
Contact:

Re: layer blending mode

Post by furushil » 30 Nov 2017, 16:49

Unfortunately, that is not it.

Here is a comparison:
colorize.png
colorize.png (46.1 KiB) Viewed 134 times
MAC OS 10.11.6 - TVpaint 11.0.8 PRO 64bit, Wacom Intuos Pro

User avatar
furushil
Posts: 393
Joined: 12 Feb 2012, 21:02
Location: Berlin
Contact:

Re: layer blending mode

Post by furushil » 30 Nov 2017, 16:53

slowtiger wrote:
30 Nov 2017, 16:37
Colorize.

(I just created a PSD file with one layer set to color, opened it in TVP and it had set the layer to the corresponding mode.)
That's a good idea! I opened the Photoshop file with TVPaint and know now which mode to use, thank you.
MAC OS 10.11.6 - TVpaint 11.0.8 PRO 64bit, Wacom Intuos Pro

User avatar
Fabrice
Posts: 9872
Joined: 17 Jul 2007, 15:00
Contact:

Re: layer blending mode

Post by Fabrice » 30 Nov 2017, 17:15

it's a known issue, not easy to fix for some complex reasons, but doable.
A big upgrade in the future will probably handle that.
Fabrice Debarge, Product Manager, TVPaint Team

User avatar
furushil
Posts: 393
Joined: 12 Feb 2012, 21:02
Location: Berlin
Contact:

Re: layer blending mode

Post by furushil » 01 Dec 2017, 18:30

Fabrice wrote:
30 Nov 2017, 17:15
it's a known issue, not easy to fix for some complex reasons, but doable.
A big upgrade in the future will probably handle that.
I never used the mode before but it would be useful for my current project.
Oh well, I just imitated the mode by painting all the areas by hand. Luckily, there is not much movement in the scene :)
MAC OS 10.11.6 - TVpaint 11.0.8 PRO 64bit, Wacom Intuos Pro

Post Reply