Can't Open TVPaint Topic is solved

Please use this part to report bugs & errors, ask questions & "How to..."
Post Reply
Gochris1
Posts: 127
Joined: 09 May 2008, 16:58

Can't Open TVPaint

Post by Gochris1 » 03 Dec 2017, 06:32

Hello:

I can not open TV Paint.

I had to replace my C drive. I also upgraded from Windows 7 to Windows 10.

So now I am using windows 10.

I had a zipped version of TVPaint Animation Pro 8.5. You had sent it to me a few years ago.
It is version TVP Animation 8.6.4.1173fPRO(32).exe

I unzipped it and installed TV Paint on the hard drive.

The program opened and there was a message about plugging in my dongle. (See attached screenshot)

I still have my dongle. I unplugged it and plugged it in several times, but TV Paint would not open so I could not draw with it.

I still have my registration codes if you need them.

How do I get TVPaint to open? If it matters, I plan to upgrade to TVP 11 Pro, but it will not be until next summer or fall.

Thanks
Chris
Attachments
TV Paint.jpg
Last edited by Gochris1 on 03 Dec 2017, 10:33, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Animark
Posts: 481
Joined: 16 Oct 2008, 15:26
Location: Berlin

Re: Can't Open TVPaint

Post by Animark » 03 Dec 2017, 10:28

For the dongle-problem, I would try to install the newest drivers from manufactors homepage. The dongle is called "Sentinel".

But I think you will not get your old TVPaint working on Win10 in general. Here is a discussion about the problem:
http://forum.tvpaint.com/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=10127

Maybe you should stay with Win7.
TVPaint 10.5.7 - Win10/64
TVPaint 11.0.8 - Win10/64
TVPaint 11.0.8 - Win10/64 (Wacom Companion 2)

User avatar
D.T. Nethery
Posts: 2084
Joined: 27 Sep 2006, 19:19

Re: Can't Open TVPaint

Post by D.T. Nethery » 03 Dec 2017, 17:32

You might be able to get it to run on Windows 10 if you create a new user account and install TVPaint on that account . You'll have to log in to that account to use TVPaint.

See:

http://forum.tvpaint.com/viewtopic.php? ... =30#p99723
MAC OS 10.11.6 , Macbook Pro Retina 15-inch, Mid 2015,
2.5 GHz Intel Core i7, 16 GB Memory , TVPaint PRO 11.0.6, 64bit -
Wacom Cintiq 21 UX - Wacom Intuos Pro 5 - driver version 6.3.20-8

Gochris1
Posts: 127
Joined: 09 May 2008, 16:58

Re: Can't Open TVPaint

Post by Gochris1 » 04 Dec 2017, 09:46

Thanks Animark and D.T. Nethery.

Before I try your solutions, does anyone on the TVPaint staff have any advice?

Thanks
Gochris

User avatar
Fabrice
Posts: 9854
Joined: 17 Jul 2007, 15:00
Contact:

Re: Can't Open TVPaint

Post by Fabrice » 04 Dec 2017, 10:43

I would have tested those first (latest safenet ultrapro dongle drivers to reinstall and clean windows 10 session)
If it doesn't work, we will do a teamviewer session with you.
Fabrice Debarge, Product Manager, TVPaint Team

Gochris1
Posts: 127
Joined: 09 May 2008, 16:58

Re: Can't Open TVPaint

Post by Gochris1 » 04 Dec 2017, 11:30

Sorry to be a problem... but I am a little confused.

I am trying to download the latest safenet ultrapro dongle drivers.

I go to Safenet's website
https://sentinelcustomer.gemalto.com/sentineldownloads/

I search for Sentinel Ultrapro.

I get a list of downloads. (See screenshot)

There are several downloadable files listed.

But how do I know which file to download and install?
Attachments
SENTINEL SCREENSHOT.jpg

User avatar
Elodie
Site Admin
Posts: 13450
Joined: 06 Jan 2009, 09:53
Location: Metz

Re: Can't Open TVPaint

Post by Elodie » 04 Dec 2017, 11:33

http://www.tvpaint.com/owncloud/index.p ... KniTfO4Vul

Click on the link above.

However, please keep in mind you are using a +10 years old version and we cannot guarantee such an old software will work with current OS / drivers.
Questions or problems regarding the forum ? Please contact me by PM
Question regarding TVPaint or need a quotation ? Please contact me by email

Gochris1
Posts: 127
Joined: 09 May 2008, 16:58

Re: Can't Open TVPaint

Post by Gochris1 » 04 Dec 2017, 11:56

Yes I understand that.
I thank you for your patience with me!

Gochris1
Posts: 127
Joined: 09 May 2008, 16:58

Re: Can't Open TVPaint

Post by Gochris1 » 04 Dec 2017, 12:34

Elodie:

Thanks for the help with the download link.

I downloaded the sentinel driver and installed it.

I click on the TVPaint shortcut.
Now the TVPaint registration window comes up. So that's good!

A window comes up. It says "Your License Key was not found."

At the bottom of the page, I input my User Name, Organization and my UNLOCK CODE

I click on the "register" button, and

"UNLOCK CODE Required!" appears on my screen.

So I sent all of the proper information to the TVPregister@tvpaint.fr address

I can provide my Lock Code and Unlock code if you want it. I assume this has to be done privately, not on this public forum.

I am waiting for your response. Thanks!

Gochris

This information may help:
On the TVPaint registration window, I see two buttons at the bottom: one is "Register." The other is "Later."
If I click on "Later" I can use TVPaint. I can save files, and export Quicktimes.
Last edited by Gochris1 on 04 Dec 2017, 12:45, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Elodie
Site Admin
Posts: 13450
Joined: 06 Jan 2009, 09:53
Location: Metz

Re: Can't Open TVPaint

Post by Elodie » 04 Dec 2017, 12:39

I have sent you your codes, just in case. If there is further issue with your codes, please answer that email (we won't chat about this on the forum :wink: )
Questions or problems regarding the forum ? Please contact me by PM
Question regarding TVPaint or need a quotation ? Please contact me by email

Gochris1
Posts: 127
Joined: 09 May 2008, 16:58

Re: Can't Open TVPaint

Post by Gochris1 » 04 Dec 2017, 12:58

Thanks for sending me the email.

I responded to your email.

:D

User avatar
Elodie
Site Admin
Posts: 13450
Joined: 06 Jan 2009, 09:53
Location: Metz

Re: Can't Open TVPaint

Post by Elodie » 04 Dec 2017, 13:11

I did not get it :s

(it's elodie [@] tvpaint . fr)
Questions or problems regarding the forum ? Please contact me by PM
Question regarding TVPaint or need a quotation ? Please contact me by email

Gochris1
Posts: 127
Joined: 09 May 2008, 16:58

Re: Can't Open TVPaint

Post by Gochris1 » 04 Dec 2017, 17:27

I just sent the email to the correct address.

Gochris1
Posts: 127
Joined: 09 May 2008, 16:58

Re: Can't Open TVPaint

Post by Gochris1 » 06 Dec 2017, 10:22

Elodie:

I received the email.

I opened TVPaint as "Administrator."

Now TVPaint is working perfectly.

Thanks to everyone's help! Elodie, Animark, David Nethery... you're the best!

TVPaint community rocks!

This case is closed.
Attachments
thank you tvpaint.jpg
thank you tvpaint.jpg (44.28 KiB) Viewed 71 times

User avatar
Elodie
Site Admin
Posts: 13450
Joined: 06 Jan 2009, 09:53
Location: Metz

Re: Can't Open TVPaint

Post by Elodie » 06 Dec 2017, 11:14

Haha, you're welcome, I'm glad that it worked :D
Questions or problems regarding the forum ? Please contact me by PM
Question regarding TVPaint or need a quotation ? Please contact me by email

Post Reply