Tool bar export fail

Please use this part to report bugs & errors, ask questions & "How to..."
Post Reply
Amili
Posts: 3
Joined: 29 Jun 2018, 09:30

Tool bar export fail

Post by Amili » 29 Jun 2018, 13:04

Hi!

I'm trying to export my brushes from tvpaint 9.5.
(Installing soon top 11 so I want to save my brushes)
But I get a notification: export fail
or nothing at all
or a crash.

Any ideas?

User avatar
D.T. Nethery
Posts: 2283
Joined: 27 Sep 2006, 19:19

Re: Tool bar export fail

Post by D.T. Nethery » 29 Jun 2018, 13:21

Amili wrote:
29 Jun 2018, 13:04
Hi!

I'm trying to export my brushes from tvpaint 9.5.
(Installing soon top 11 so I want to save my brushes)
But I get a notification: export fail
or nothing at all
or a crash.

Any ideas?
Which version of TVPaint 9 ? (if I recall, the last iteration before the jump to 10 was 9.5.21 ... you can check yours by going to Help Menu > About TVPaint Animation to see which version you have) .
MAC OS 10.11.6 , Macbook Pro Retina 15-inch, Mid 2015,
2.5 GHz Intel Core i7, 16 GB Memory , TVPaint PRO 11.0.6, 64bit -
Wacom Cintiq 21 UX - Wacom Intuos Pro 5 - driver version 6.3.20-8

Amili
Posts: 3
Joined: 29 Jun 2018, 09:30

Re: Tool bar export fail

Post by Amili » 29 Jun 2018, 14:00

Yep, 95.21
and iMac 10.13.5.

Actually now I succeeded with it :D
Let's see if the problem keeps occurring.

But I faced another problem: how to export papers as well. When I open the brush in the new version, my papers are not there of course.
So any way to export papers as well (with the brush or separately)?
I will need to send the brush with correct paper to another animator as well.

(Should I make a new topic out of this..?)

Thanks!

Ami

User avatar
slowtiger
Posts: 2190
Joined: 08 May 2008, 21:10
Location: berlin, germany
Contact:

Re: Tool bar export fail

Post by slowtiger » 29 Jun 2018, 14:57

You just need to copy the papers folder's content in the finder. Go to TVP in the applications folder, choose "Show content", Contents/Resources/papers. I use this to get rid of all textures I don't need, and to put my own ones inside.
TVP 10.0.18, Mac Pro Quadcore 3 GHz, 16 GB RAM, OS 10.11, QT 7.7.3

Amili
Posts: 3
Joined: 29 Jun 2018, 09:30

Re: Tool bar export fail

Post by Amili » 29 Jun 2018, 15:23

Great! Thank you, that's good to know!

..

Oh, but when I went there I did't find my papers stored in that folder?
Any ideas where they might be..?
mypapers.png
My papers, paperi2 etc
papers.png
Papers folder in Finder

User avatar
slowtiger
Posts: 2190
Joined: 08 May 2008, 21:10
Location: berlin, germany
Contact:

Re: Tool bar export fail

Post by slowtiger » 29 Jun 2018, 15:47

Hm, no idea. There's a TVP folder in user/library/ which stores all your prefs, but no papers there. Have you done a finder search with one of the paper names?
TVP 10.0.18, Mac Pro Quadcore 3 GHz, 16 GB RAM, OS 10.11, QT 7.7.3

User avatar
D.T. Nethery
Posts: 2283
Joined: 27 Sep 2006, 19:19

Re: Tool bar export fail

Post by D.T. Nethery » 29 Jun 2018, 16:11

Amili wrote:
29 Jun 2018, 14:00
Yep, 9.5.21
and iMac 10.13.5.

Actually now I succeeded with it :D
Oh, ok, good to know that you got it working. I was going to say, if yours was lower than 9.5.21 , better to update it first , then try to export your Custom Tool Panels as .tvpx files , which you can then drag-and-drop into TVPaint 11 .

As far as the papers , I would have said the same as Slowtiger above , but if you've got custom papers that are not showing up in the folder , I'm not sure how to find those custom papers.
MAC OS 10.11.6 , Macbook Pro Retina 15-inch, Mid 2015,
2.5 GHz Intel Core i7, 16 GB Memory , TVPaint PRO 11.0.6, 64bit -
Wacom Cintiq 21 UX - Wacom Intuos Pro 5 - driver version 6.3.20-8

User avatar
slowtiger
Posts: 2190
Joined: 08 May 2008, 21:10
Location: berlin, germany
Contact:

Re: Tool bar export fail

Post by slowtiger » 29 Jun 2018, 16:36

I've got a certain brush/toolbar which doesn't export as TVPX either in 10 nor 11 (brought it over by copying prefs). Because of this I made it a habit to save a "brush construction" TVP file which contains not only all frames I used but also a screenshot of the brush's settings.
TVP 10.0.18, Mac Pro Quadcore 3 GHz, 16 GB RAM, OS 10.11, QT 7.7.3

Post Reply