Multiplane camera resolution

Please use this part to report bugs & errors, ask questions & "How to..."
Post Reply
User avatar
Catriona
Posts: 19
Joined: 10 Apr 2018, 09:34
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Multiplane camera resolution

Post by Catriona » 16 Jul 2018, 12:45

Hi folks

Sorry for another newbie question, you have been very patient with me.

I'm doing my first multiplane camera move and have mocked it up with draft scribbles. It's a zoom out from a detail far in the distance to a much wider landscape. So that (non-moving) detail starts full screen even though it's a tiny element in a much bigger picture. (I'm planning to do the moving parts in a separate project and set TVPaint to use that as one of the planes.) Am I right in thinking that the only way to make sure the detail is full resolution in close up, is to make the whole project big enough to accommodate it? TVPaint is already buckling under the weight.

thanks

Catriona

User avatar
D.T. Nethery
Posts: 2319
Joined: 27 Sep 2006, 19:19

Re: Multiplane camera resolution

Post by D.T. Nethery » 16 Jul 2018, 13:51

Catriona wrote:
16 Jul 2018, 12:45
Hi folks

Sorry for another newbie question, you have been very patient with me.

I'm doing my first multiplane camera move and have mocked it up with draft scribbles. It's a zoom out from a detail far in the distance to a much wider landscape. So that (non-moving) detail starts full screen even though it's a tiny element in a much bigger picture. (I'm planning to do the moving parts in a separate project and set TVPaint to use that as one of the planes.) Am I right in thinking that the only way to make sure the detail is full resolution in close up, is to make the whole project big enough to accommodate it? TVPaint is already buckling under the weight.

thanks

Catriona

Yes, the best policy is to work over-scale if you're going to zoom-in close on details (or in this case enlarge the size of the distant plane on the multiplane stage). The usual formula would be that the most extreme zoomed-in area should be equal to the intended final output resolution , so let's assume your final output will be 1920 x 1080 ... if your distant plane is zoomed in 400% from where it ends up at the end of the camera pull-out , you would need to work 4x over scale at 7680 x 4320. That would be equivalent in traditional animation terms of zooming-out from "3 Field" to "12 Field" . If you want the image to be crisp throughout the range of the zoom-out then the "3 Field" area needs to be equivalent to 1920 x 1080 (the intended output resolution) . A zoom-out equivalent to "3 F" to "12 F" is an extremely long zoom , so maybe yours doesn't need to be that much ... if you were starting so that your most distant plane was zoomed-in 300% then you would need to be 3x overscale at 5760 x 3240 ... that would be equivalent to zooming out from "4 Field" to "12 Field' , which is still a rather long zoom-out . 2x overscale would be 3840 x 2160 .
long zoom-out_example.jpg
There was a topic about extremely long zoom-in/zoom-out camera moves which might be helpful:

viewtopic.php?t=4841


.
MAC OS 10.11.6 , Macbook Pro Retina 15-inch, Mid 2015,
2.5 GHz Intel Core i7, 16 GB Memory , TVPaint PRO 11.0.6, 64bit -
Wacom Cintiq 21 UX - Wacom Intuos Pro 5 - driver version 6.3.20-8

User avatar
Catriona
Posts: 19
Joined: 10 Apr 2018, 09:34
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Multiplane camera resolution

Post by Catriona » 16 Jul 2018, 13:55

Thank you very much! It's as I thought then. And it's a very long zoom. I'd better get ready for lots of cups of tea as things render.

User avatar
D.T. Nethery
Posts: 2319
Joined: 27 Sep 2006, 19:19

Re: Multiplane camera resolution

Post by D.T. Nethery » 16 Jul 2018, 14:10

Catriona wrote:
16 Jul 2018, 13:55
Thank you very much! It's as I thought then. And it's a very long zoom. I'd better get ready for lots of cups of tea as things render.
But maybe try this solution, of breaking it up into sections (that will seamlessly hook up) so that if you're doing a very long zoom (400% - 500% , 800%, whatever it may be) you don't have to scale up the project that large - viewtopic.php?t=4841
MAC OS 10.11.6 , Macbook Pro Retina 15-inch, Mid 2015,
2.5 GHz Intel Core i7, 16 GB Memory , TVPaint PRO 11.0.6, 64bit -
Wacom Cintiq 21 UX - Wacom Intuos Pro 5 - driver version 6.3.20-8

User avatar
Catriona
Posts: 19
Joined: 10 Apr 2018, 09:34
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Multiplane camera resolution

Post by Catriona » 16 Jul 2018, 14:30

Yes, the complications of that scare me, being new to the multiplane, so I'm hoping I'll manage it in one go.

Post Reply