Intuos4

Please use this part to report bugs & errors, ask questions & "How to..."
User avatar
Paul Fierlinger
Posts: 7694
Joined: 03 May 2008, 12:05
Location: Pennsylvania USA
Contact:

Re: Intuos4

Post by Paul Fierlinger » 23 Jun 2009, 22:29

You're right, now the mouse works, although not as naturally as it does on other apps. What will I miss without the subpixels clicked? I keep forgetting this but I do remember that I should have it checked.
Paul
http://www.slocumfilm.com
Desktop PC Win10-Pro -64 bit OS; 32.0 GB RAM
Processor: i7-2600 CPU@3.40GHz
AMD FirePro V7900; Intuos4 Wacom tablet

User avatar
ZigOtto
Posts: 4103
Joined: 17 Feb 2006, 22:50
Location: south-Petazonia

Re: Intuos4

Post by ZigOtto » 23 Jun 2009, 23:27

Paul Fierlinger wrote:... What will I miss without the subpixels clicked?

I'm not qualified to answer to that, since my old Intuos (and the old driver I run with for years) needs the subpixel setting off ...
I donno what I miss or not, but as long as it works nicely for me, I won't change anything.

on my tablet-pc, the subpixel setting is On, but I can't see any difference on strokes .
(pen tablet driver v5.05)
Last edited by ZigOtto on 23 Jun 2009, 23:34, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Paul Fierlinger
Posts: 7694
Joined: 03 May 2008, 12:05
Location: Pennsylvania USA
Contact:

Re: Intuos4

Post by Paul Fierlinger » 23 Jun 2009, 23:34

Well the Wacom mouse is still far from adequate compared to the logitech one I have but it's nice to know that it'll do the job if I forget to recharge my logitech. How can you live without buying a new tablet every time a new model comes out? I can do that with cars but never with tablets, even though each time there's an adjustment anxiety period to suppress (by telling everyone else they should buy it too). :)
Paul
http://www.slocumfilm.com
Desktop PC Win10-Pro -64 bit OS; 32.0 GB RAM
Processor: i7-2600 CPU@3.40GHz
AMD FirePro V7900; Intuos4 Wacom tablet

User avatar
ZigOtto
Posts: 4103
Joined: 17 Feb 2006, 22:50
Location: south-Petazonia

Re: Intuos4

Post by ZigOtto » 24 Jun 2009, 00:00

Paul Fierlinger wrote:. How can you live without buying a new tablet every time a new model comes out?
I donno how, but "yes I can" !
Wacom is a thief, and I don't use to feed the thieves,
so they will never get a penny from me ! :P
all the tablets I owned were "second hand", actually 4 or 5 ... :)

User avatar
Paul Fierlinger
Posts: 7694
Joined: 03 May 2008, 12:05
Location: Pennsylvania USA
Contact:

Re: Intuos4

Post by Paul Fierlinger » 24 Jun 2009, 00:07

I got my last two Intuos 3s for free from Wacom so I can't see them as thieves. Except for what they charge for those pens, of course.
Paul
http://www.slocumfilm.com
Desktop PC Win10-Pro -64 bit OS; 32.0 GB RAM
Processor: i7-2600 CPU@3.40GHz
AMD FirePro V7900; Intuos4 Wacom tablet

User avatar
Sierra Rose
Posts: 477
Joined: 04 May 2008, 17:14
Location: Windsor, California
Contact:

Re: Intuos4

Post by Sierra Rose » 24 Jun 2009, 13:25

The way I look at it, I've had my 3 for what? 7 or 8 years now....and it has been wonderful. That's not very much per year.

For $427, I'm happy to buy even "more wonderful" for the coming years.

I'm wondering if anyone is interesting in buying my 3 for a good price?
WinXP 32bit 10.0.17Pro

User avatar
Peter Wassink
Posts: 3544
Joined: 17 Feb 2006, 15:38
Location: Amsterdam (Basse-Lotharingie)
Contact:

Re: Intuos4

Post by Peter Wassink » 24 Jun 2009, 13:51

Sierra K Rose wrote:The way I look at it, I've had my 3 for what? 7 or 8 years now....and it has been wonderful. That's not very much per year.
it can't be more then 5 Sierra...
Sep14, 2004 - Wacom Co., Ltd. today introduced its new Intuos3 Graphic tablets
:wink:
Peter Wassink - 2D animator
• PC: Win10/64 Home - Xeon Quadcore E5410@2.33Ghz - 12Gb RAM
• laptop: Win10/64 Pro - i7-4600@2.1 GHz - 8Gb RAM

User avatar
Sierra Rose
Posts: 477
Joined: 04 May 2008, 17:14
Location: Windsor, California
Contact:

Re: Intuos4

Post by Sierra Rose » 24 Jun 2009, 14:04

Oh right..I started with a smaller one at first, I forgot. Feels like I've had it forever anyway.
WinXP 32bit 10.0.17Pro

User avatar
Paul Fierlinger
Posts: 7694
Joined: 03 May 2008, 12:05
Location: Pennsylvania USA
Contact:

Re: Intuos4

Post by Paul Fierlinger » 24 Jun 2009, 18:51

Here's the difference between subpixel turned on and off -- quite noticeable, I'd say.
A correction to my remarks about the Wacom 4 Radial gadget -- I take what I said back. After spending more time with settings I find it quite adequate for many functions. I even programmed it to scrub through instance frames, playing just the heads.
Attachments
SUBPIXEL on - off.jpg
SUBPIXEL on - off.jpg (7.22 KiB) Viewed 6835 times
Paul
http://www.slocumfilm.com
Desktop PC Win10-Pro -64 bit OS; 32.0 GB RAM
Processor: i7-2600 CPU@3.40GHz
AMD FirePro V7900; Intuos4 Wacom tablet

User avatar
ZigOtto
Posts: 4103
Joined: 17 Feb 2006, 22:50
Location: south-Petazonia

Re: Intuos4

Post by ZigOtto » 24 Jun 2009, 19:11

Paul Fierlinger wrote:Here's the difference between subpixel turned on and off -- quite noticeable, I'd say.
indeed !!! :o
we are talking about the tablet SubPixel option in the preference panel, right ?
which wacom driver version ?
strokes drawn at view 100%, or zoomed (in or out) ?

here it's smooth identically whatever the subpixel option ... :?
Attachments
sb-on-off.png
sb-on-off.png (33.99 KiB) Viewed 6820 times

User avatar
malcooning
Posts: 2112
Joined: 29 Mar 2006, 12:43
Location: Tel Aviv
Contact:

Re: Intuos4

Post by malcooning » 24 Jun 2009, 20:05

ZigOtto wrote:here it's smooth identically whatever the subpixel option ... :?
are you using a tabletPC?
the digitizer on the tabletPC doesn't need to have sub-pixel enabled and in fact gives a similar line result whether enabled or disabled.

User avatar
ZigOtto
Posts: 4103
Joined: 17 Feb 2006, 22:50
Location: south-Petazonia

Re: Intuos4

Post by ZigOtto » 24 Jun 2009, 21:31

OK, that's it !

but what's strange to me, on my desktop, I have subpixel option off and get smooth lines as well ...
I can't reproduce the funky-jerky-blocky line as in Paul exemple .

nevermind, the opposite would be a problem,
but as long as my lines are smooth and responsive, it's ok.
:)
Last edited by ZigOtto on 24 Jun 2009, 21:35, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Paul Fierlinger
Posts: 7694
Joined: 03 May 2008, 12:05
Location: Pennsylvania USA
Contact:

Re: Intuos4

Post by Paul Fierlinger » 24 Jun 2009, 21:34

I can't reproduce the funky-jerky-blocky line as in Paul exemple .
You'll just have to keep trying. It comes with experience.
Paul
http://www.slocumfilm.com
Desktop PC Win10-Pro -64 bit OS; 32.0 GB RAM
Processor: i7-2600 CPU@3.40GHz
AMD FirePro V7900; Intuos4 Wacom tablet

User avatar
ZigOtto
Posts: 4103
Joined: 17 Feb 2006, 22:50
Location: south-Petazonia

Re: Intuos4

Post by ZigOtto » 24 Jun 2009, 21:38

Paul Fierlinger wrote:You'll just have to keep trying. It comes with experience.
or with age ... :)

User avatar
Sewie
Posts: 1257
Joined: 18 Jun 2008, 11:57
Location: The Netherlands, Europe
Contact:

Re: Intuos4

Post by Sewie » 25 Jun 2009, 07:13

Thanks for the review, Paul.
Really appreciate it.
Michael Sewnarain - Website
Windows 10/64b - TVP11.0.8 - Pro/64b - Cintiq24HD

Post Reply