Laptop suggestions ?

Please use this part to report bugs & errors, ask questions & "How to..."
djsolomon

Laptop suggestions ?

Post by djsolomon »

Hi I am an experieced animator and I am going to buy a PC laptop to run the latest version of TV Paint to learn the program . Can anyone help me out with the specs for
such a machine? I have no idea what to buy and what I would need for optimal use of the program. Thanks so much!!!
my best Debby
Animark

Re: Laptop suggestions ?

Post by Animark »

Hi,

It`s good to have more Ram (8GB are nice) and a fast HD. I don't know about multiprocessor, but would say, 4 kernel are quite nice. And use win 64Bit (or Mac). A good Idea is to have a good tablet or a cintiq.

I sometimes run TVP on an older tablet pc with slow HD, 3GB on Win XP/32 and an early dual core. TVP runs fine. Limitation is, it is not a pleasure to work on colored full HD with some layers. It is also not possible to open a 8000 x 5000 pixel project due to the limited RAM - but this is an extreme.
TVPaint 10.5.7 - Win10/64
TVPaint 11.0.8 - Win10/64
TVPaint 11.0.8 - Win10/64 (Wacom Companion 2)
idragosani

Post by idragosani »

How much money do you want to spend? 8)

You want a lot of RAM and a lot of HD space (second drive separate from system drive is even better). Processor-wise, an i5 or i7 is a good choice, and hard drives at least 7200 rpm. NVidia or ATI video, too (although not as crucial since you won't be doing realtime 3D). I don't know if TVPaint for Windows is 64-bit, but just about all new hardware is 64-bit now (TVPaint for Linux is 64-bit)

These machines were designed for animation & video:

http://www.boxxtech.com/products/goBOXX ... erview.asp" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;