Save separate layers

Share your custom panels, brushes, papers... (you need to be registered to read posts in this section)
Post Reply
Manuel
Posts: 673
Joined: 09 Feb 2006, 14:09
Location: France-Moselle

Save separate layers

Post by Manuel »

Here is the george script.
Use it at your own risk.
There is a path request at the start of the script.
Type a valid existing path.
Example : c:\

The layers are saved as avi

If you want another format you must edit the code.
Example :
if you want deep format change

Code: Select all

Extension = ".avi"
tv_SaveMode "AVI"
to

Code: Select all

Extension = ".dip"
tv_SaveMode "DEEP"
The layer's names are used for filename.
NO SPACE ALLOWED in the layer's name
Use different name for each layer.

If you find bugs, please report them here.
Thank you.
Attachments
SaveSeparateLayers.zip
script
(571 Bytes) Downloaded 261 times
Manuel
Manuel
Posts: 673
Joined: 09 Feb 2006, 14:09
Location: France-Moselle

Post by Manuel »

If you don't want to type the path each time, open the script in a text editor and replace

Code: Select all

tv_ReqString "Enter Path (ending by \)"
path = result
by

Code: Select all

path = "d:\mypath\"
d:\mypath\ must be a valid, existing directory.
This way, all the files will always be saved in the same directory.
Manuel
Manuel
Posts: 673
Joined: 09 Feb 2006, 14:09
Location: France-Moselle

Post by Manuel »

Here is a special version that save in QuickTime format with alpha.
Don't forget to set up the path variable in the script.
By default, it is set to "c:\" .

IMPORTANT
You will lose your current brush if you use the script!!!
Attachments
SaveSeparateLayersAlpha.rar
Qt alpha
(580 Bytes) Downloaded 248 times
Last edited by Manuel on 01 Oct 2006, 17:33, edited 1 time in total.
Manuel
User avatar
malcooning
Posts: 2114
Joined: 29 Mar 2006, 12:43
Location: Tel Aviv
Contact:

Post by malcooning »

Manuel,
I kiss you. this script is perfect. works like a charm, and very smooth.
This should be embedded in the next release of tvpaint for certain.
Thank you for taking time to see to this script.

I wish I had the patience to learn the code and write my own scripts.
This will add a whole new dimension of tvpaint experince for me!

thank you millions.
A.
User avatar
malcooning
Posts: 2114
Joined: 29 Mar 2006, 12:43
Location: Tel Aviv
Contact:

Post by malcooning »

hey Manuel,

I have tried to use SaveSeperateLayersAlpha.grg script in TVP pro, but something is not working right. When I run the script, it shows as if it is indeed exporting the layers, but no files are being added to the path that I put in the script (I made sure it ended with a \). I tried then the SaveSeparateLayers.grg, and after it brings the location request, it shows again as if it is exporting, but no files are written.

Can you please try the script in TVP pro?

cheers,

a.
Manuel
Posts: 673
Joined: 09 Feb 2006, 14:09
Location: France-Moselle

Post by Manuel »

Restart TVPAP.
Check your export file format.
Export one layer by hand to see if it works.
No space in layer name and path, try root path (c:/ d:/ ...).
Try the script on standard resolution (/16 ?).

Script not tested on Mac.
Manuel
User avatar
malcooning
Posts: 2114
Joined: 29 Mar 2006, 12:43
Location: Tel Aviv
Contact:

Post by malcooning »

ah, of course, I made a mistake which was covered in September still...
The layer names - I didn't check for space in layer names...

it's fine now. Nowadays I'm not taking time to find the source of problems. I guess that life in London make me a bit impatient.

sorry to hassle you for this Manuel,
and thank you.

a.
fran125
Posts: 1
Joined: 08 Apr 2013, 08:23

Re: Save separate layers

Post by fran125 »

Hello ,

I ve try your script on TVPaint 10.0.11 but it s don t work.

The script create image but without any information on.

In fact i think the script hide all layer during export and don t show anyone.

Sorry for my bad english and thanks for your sharing.
User avatar
Fabrice
Posts: 10077
Joined: 17 Jul 2007, 15:00
Contact:

Re: Save separate layers

Post by Fabrice »

fran125 wrote:Hello ,

I ve try your script on TVPaint 10.0.11 but it s don t work.

The script create image but without any information on.

In fact i think the script hide all layer during export and don t show anyone.

Sorry for my bad english and thanks for your sharing.
Answering 6 years after the creation of the topic :?

Fran125, please introduce yourself, otherwise your message might be considered as spam.

If not spammer, please update your software to the lastest TVPaint Animation 10.0.17.
Fabrice Debarge
User avatar
my1ironlung
Posts: 19
Joined: 18 Sep 2013, 15:22

Re: Save separate layers

Post by my1ironlung »

hey dudes i uploaded a tweek of this script. it will now export into seperate folders named L01, L02, L03, if you create the folders and specify a root path. also no need to add back slashes, and instead of using the layer name for the image names, you can make your own name when you put in the shot number. we needed this for a more professional pipeline.

one thing i can't figure out is how to get the layers exporting a hold at the end of the layer, or how to specify a mark in mark out point. but whatever. great job on the original script.
Attachments
SaveSeparateLayersAlpha_namelayers_v02.grg
(1.82 KiB) Downloaded 218 times
User avatar
my1ironlung
Posts: 19
Joined: 18 Sep 2013, 15:22

Re: Save separate layers

Post by my1ironlung »

hello, well i guess no one cares anymore, but i updated this script, it now will only export the layers that you have turned on, any layers with visibility turned off will be skipped. it will however keep the naming order. for example if you have 3 layers, and layer 2 is turned off, it will export layer 1 and 3.
Again, make sure you have made folders for these layers: L01, L02, L03, enough for all your layers.
hope this helps someone out there.
harry
Attachments
SaveSeparateLayersAlpha_namelayers_v03.grg
(2.32 KiB) Downloaded 220 times
User avatar
my1ironlung
Posts: 19
Joined: 18 Sep 2013, 15:22

Re: Save separate layers

Post by my1ironlung »

I'm very excited to see that they have included a similar script in the latest TVP 11 version. it really makes me love this software, as it seems that tvpaint really takes these forums into account.

i've tweaked their script a bit for optimization. it doesn't export unnecessary blank frames at the end of the sequence for layers that end early, and i've changed the naming conventions a bit so it is easier to import these images into another compositing software and keep everything in order.
Be careful not to include backslashes or any weird symbols in your layer names, it might have a hard time making the directories.

so here's the script:

Code: Select all

#param none

tv_getpath "home" //path par defaut
srcFolder=result 

tv_readuserstring "ExportDigital" "folder" srcFolder
srcFolder=result

//Ouverture du file requester
requester = FileRequester("<Select a folder to save in...",srcFolder,srcFile,"*.txt")
IF ( requester!=1 )
EXIT
END

tv_SaveMode "PNG" "b32"
tv_AlphaSaveMode NoPreMultiply

tv_layercurrentid
InitLayer = result

tv_layergetimage
InitImage = result

tv_firstimage
startingFrame= result
CurrentImage = startingFrame

tv_lastimage
LastImage = result

tv_clipcurrentid
ClipID = result

//tv_clipname ClipID
//ClipName = result
//these two lines above have been turned off, they identify the export by clip names.
//i've changed to project name below

tv_ProjectCurrentID
projectID = result

//tv_GetProjectName projectID
//ClipName = result
//tv_warn ClipName

tv_ReqString "hold up, what are we calling this? (ex: shot 1 = 'SH0010')."
ClipName=result

//run pre export sequence to create folders, folder paths and determine post behaviors ----------------------------------->

tv_LockDisplay "Initiating..."
layerRun = 1
layerCount = 0
WHILE ( layerRun == 1 )
    tv_LayerGetID layerCount
    layerID = result
    IF ( CMP( layerID, "NONE" ) != 0 )
        layerRun = 0
    ELSE   
        //tv_Warn "layer " layerCount+1 " exists" 


            tv_LayerSet layerID
            tv_LayerInfo
            PARSE result layerDisplay a2 a3 layerName a5 imagePos imageEnd a7 a8 a9 dummy

            IF ( CMP( layerDisplay, "OFF" ) == 0 )

              // postBehavior test
              tv_layerpostbehavior layerID
              endBehavior = result
              //tv_Warn "Layer" layerCount+1 "end behavior is " endBehavior"."
                    
              test = CMP(endBehavior, "none")
              IF (test == 1)
                  layerBehavior[layerCount] = 0
              ELSE
                  layerBehavior[layerCount] = 1
              END  //end endbehavior test

              //-------------------------create folder, 

              numlayer = layerCount+1
              foldername = pathname

              IF ( numlayer < 10 )
                  foldername = foldername"L0"numlayer"_"layerName
                  folderpath[layerCount] = foldername"/"ClipName"_L0"numlayer"_"layerName    
              ELSE
                  foldername = foldername"L"numlayer"_"layerName
                  folderpath[layerCount] = foldername"/"ClipName"_L"numlayer"_"layerName
              END 

              //tv_Warn "The folder path is " foldername

              tv_WriteTextFile "Exists" '"'foldername'"'
              exist = result
                    
              IF ( CMP( exist, "0" ) != 0 ) //Si le dossier n'existe pas
                  tv_WriteTextFile "MkDir" '"'foldername'"'
              ELSE    
              END  
                     // ---------------------end create folder

            ELSE
            END

        layerCount = layerCount + 1
    END
END
tv_UnLockDisplay
//end pre export sequence to create folders, folder paths and determine post behaviors ----------------------------------->


    layerRun = 1
    layerPos = 0

WHILE ( layerRun == 1 )   
        tv_LayerGetID layerPos
        layerID = result
        IF ( CMP( layerID, "NONE" ) == 0 )
          //tv_Warn "layer " layerPos " is being run" 
            v3=layerPos+1
            //v1 = layerPos+1+layerCount*CurrentImage
            //v2 = layerCount*(LastImage+1)

            tv_LayerSet layerID
            tv_LayerInfo
            PARSE result layerDisplay a2 a3 layerName a5 imagePos imageEnd a7 a8 a9 dummy
            //tv_Warn "layer " layerPos " ending frame is" imageEnd 

            IF ( CMP( layerDisplay, "OFF" ) == 0 )

                    IF (layerBehavior[layerPos]==0)
                      endingFrame=imageEnd
                    ELSE
                      endingFrame= LastImage
                    END  //end endbehavior test

                     CurrentImage = startingFrame

                    FOR CurrentImage = startingFrame TO endingFrame
                        exportImage=CurrentImage+1
                          tv_LockDisplay "Exporting... (layer "v3", image "exportImage" )"

                        tv_layerImage CurrentImage

                        IF ( exportImage < 10 )
                          finalPath = folderPath[layerPos]"_000"exportImage
                        ELSE
                          IF ( exportImage < 100 )
                            finalPath = folderPath[layerPos]"_00"exportImage
                          ELSE
                            IF ( exportImage < 1000 )
                              finalPath = folderPath[layerPos]"_0"exportImage
                            ELSE
                              finalPath = folderpath[layerPos]"_"exportImage
                            END  // if<1000
                          END    //if <100
                        END    //if<10
                        
                        tv_saveimage finalPath

                        //CurrentImage=CurrentImage+1
                        tv_UnLockDisplay
                    END //For current image 

            END   // if layer is displayed
            layerPos = layerPos + 1
            
            ELSE  //the layer doesn't exist 
            layerRun = 0

        END // if layer exists    

    END //while layerRun=1

tv_layerSet InitLayer
tv_layerImage InitImage

//------------------------------------------
//
//	FileRequester
//
//	Function: open a file requester
//
//	Call: FileRequester(title,path,file,pattern)
//
//	Arguments:
//	title   = requester title
//	path    = default directory
//      file    = default filename
//      pattern = default pattern
//
//	Return: 0 if user clicks on Cancel
//          1 if user chooses a file. This
//          function creates three global
//          variables: fullpath ( path+name+
//	extension ), pathname (path
//          to choosen file), filename
//          (name of choosen file without
//          extension) and extension
//          (extension of choosen file)
//
//------------------------------------------

FUNCTION FileRequester(title,path,file,pattern)
LOCAL point slash size titre
    fullname = ""
fullpath = ""
pathname = ""
filename = ""
extension = ""
IF (CMP(pattern,0) == 1)
   titre = "|"
ELSE
   titre = "|"pattern
        extension = CUT( pattern, 2, LEN( pattern ) )
END
IF (CMP(file,0) == 1)
  titre = "|"titre
ELSE
  titre = "|"file""titre
END
IF (CMP(path,0) == 1)
   titre = "|"titre
ELSE
  titre = "|"path""titre
END
IF (CMP(title,0) == 1)
  titre = "Choose a file"titre
ELSE
  titre = title""titre
END

tv_ReqFile titre
fullname = Result
size = LEN(fullname)
fullname = Replace(fullname,"\","/")

IF (CMP(fullname,"Cancel") == 1)
    RETURN 0
    END

    fullpath = CUT( fullname, LEN(fullname) - LEN( extension ) + 1, LEN(fullname) )
    IF ( CMP( fullpath, extension ) == 1 )
        fullpath = fullname
        fullname = CUT( fullname, 1, LEN(fullname) - LEN( extension ) )
    ELSE
        fullpath = fullname""extension
    END

    start = 1
    stop = 1
    WHILE ( start > 0 )
        start = Find( fullname, "/", stop )
        IF ( start > 0 )
            stop = start +1
        END
    END

    pathname = CUT( fullpath, 1, stop - 1 )
    filename = CUT( fullname, stop + 1, LEN( fullname ) )

    RETURN 1
END

//------------------------------------------
//
//	Replace
//
//	Function: replace each occurence of a
//            substring into a string with
//            another string
//
//	Call: Replace(string,search,repl)
//
//	Arguments:
//	string  = characters string
//	search  = substring to look for
//	repl    = replacement substring
//
//	Return: result string after replacement
//
//------------------------------------------


FUNCTION Replace(string,search,repl)
LOCAL pos workstr str1 str2 size
pos = 1
workstr = string
size = LEN(search)

WHILE ((pos = FindString(workstr,search,pos)) > 0)
IF (pos == 1)
  str1 = CUT(workstr,size+1,LEN(workstr))
  workstr = repl""str1
  pos = 0
ELSE
  str1 = CUT(workstr,1,pos-1)
IF ((pos+size) < LEN(workstr))
  str2 = CUT(workstr,pos+size,LEN(workstr))
  workstr = str1""repl""str2
ELSE
  workstr = str1""repl
END
END
pos = pos+LEN(repl)
END
RETURN workstr
END

//------------------------------------------
//
//	FindString
//
//	Function: find a substring into a string
//             from a specified start position
//
//	Call: FindString(string,search,start)
//
//	Arguments:
//	string = characters string
//	search = substring to look for
//	start  = start position in string
//	Return: start position of substring
//	0 if substring does not exist
//	into string
//	-1 if invalid start position
//	(negative, null or higher
//	than string length) or if
//          substring is empty
//
//------------------------------------------

FUNCTION FindString(string,search,start)

LOCAL found j pos lastpos lstr lsrch
found = 0
lastpos = start
lstr = LEN(string)
lsrch = LEN(search)
IF (CMP(search,"") == 1)
  RETURN -1
END
WHILE ((pos = Find(string,CHAR(search,1),lastpos)) > 0)
  j = 1
  found = 1
IF (j == lsrch)
  RETURN pos
END
WHILE ((j < lsrch) && (found == 1))
  IF ((pos+j) > lstr)
   RETURN 0
  ELSE
IF (CMP(CHAR(search,j+1),CHAR(string,pos+j)) == 0)
  lastpos = pos+j
  found = 0
END
END
j = j+1
END
IF (found == 1)
  RETURN pos
END
END
RETURN pos
END

//------------------------------------------

//
//	Find
//
//	Function: find a character into a string
//            from a specified start position
//
//	Call: Find(string,car,start)
//
//	Arguments:
//	string = characters string
//	car    = character to look for
//	start  = start position in string
//
//	Return: position of character
//	0 if character does not exist
//	into string
//	-1 if invalid position
//	(negative, null or higher
//	than string length)
//
//------------------------------------------



FUNCTION Find(string,car,start)
LOCAL i size
i = start
size = LEN(string)

IF ((start <= 0) || (start > size) || (CMP(car,"") == 1))
RETURN -1
END
DO
IF (CMP(CHAR(string,i),car) == 1)
RETURN i
END
UNTIL ((i=i+1) > size)
RETURN 0
END
Elodie
Posts: 13913
Joined: 06 Jan 2009, 09:53
Location: Metz

Re: Save separate layers

Post by Elodie »

my1ironlung wrote:I'm very excited to see that they have included a similar script in the latest TVP 11 version. it really makes me love this software, as it seems that tvpaint really takes these forums into account.
We do take in account our users' needs, both on these forums and in real life too (when we visit studios and schools, or during animation fairs like Annecy or CTN Expo :D)

Thank you for sharing your own version of the script Btw :wink:
Post Reply