Multi level XSheet feature request

This section is dedicated to the feature & improvement requests (be sure what you are asking does not exist yet in TVPaint Animation ;) )
isd

Multi level XSheet feature request

Post by isd »

Let me explain what i mean by "multi level":

when you use an xsheet to time your animation, if you want to apply effects or motion on the layer you created you can't (at least I can't do it with the tvpaint pro 8.5 trial).

I have some experience with macromedia flash and a killer feature is the "symbols" :

you can create a symbol with a timeline(animation) inside
then duplicate and use this same symbols in several places (and when you correct the animation inside the symbol it will be corrected everywhere).

on top of this you can scale, rotate or even include your animated symbol in another symbol and act on it as you please, which means an infinity of ways to use your original animation(as if custom brushes were tangible editable objects on the scene), AND (the point of the feature), when you modify your original animation it is modified everywhere in real time.

The use of the Xsheet in tvpaint 8.5 let me see the possibility of this feature if we were able to ACT on the layer created via a xsheet (for example being able to use it as a source in an xsheet, and by this way being able to apply to it different effects without having to touch the original animation).

I don't know if it is easy to implement or not, but I think it should not be a possibility to ignore since it would be immensely powerful, I guess the success of flash may be due in great part to the flexibility of this feature (if you can at any time modify the original drawings you have an incredible gain of time when you have to make any correction... and the correction time is really a time/money eater without such a feature).

Is there a workaround for the time beeing?
Or a way to script something that could do the trick?

Thank you very much.