TV Paint Light?

This section is dedicated to the feature & improvement requests (be sure what you are asking does not exist yet in TVPaint Animation ;) )
oliveuk

TV Paint Light?

Post by oliveuk »

How likely is it that a light version of TV Paint will come out very soon?

The only reason I prefer TV Paint over Pencil2d is the brushes but at the price it is going for I definitely can't justify such a purchase. I am a 3d animator and none of the company I worked for were too willing to spend so much money just to do some sketches and 3d animation planning.

I understand TV Paint caters a lot of needs but I only need a software to do rough animation and timing. I am not interested in tweaking my brushes, adding effects, colouring, stop motion, editing so a cut down version of TV Paint at a lower cost would be perfect for me.

In the past I got told that you couldn't have 2 different package (3 actually) but if one guy manages to do a free software (Pencil 2d) similar to what I am asking for I guess it can't be that complicated no?

What about TV Paint for Iphone or Windows Mobiles? Most HTC phones, at least my phone (HTC TouchHD), comes with a stylus and a resolution of 800x480. The resolution is so sharp I am assuming it would be perfect for animation or even just drawing.

Olive
Fabrice

Re: TV Paint Light?

Post by Fabrice »

There is a simple reason :
The cost required to make such new apps would be much higher than the money we could get from ...

Don't forget that new OS => more bugs, new protection management, more accounting, ... => new employees, ... => new expenses.
How to cover such expenses with softwares you will sell 50 $ or less ?

On the other side, I can't say I completely against a Light version, that would be wrong.
But I know that Light version have already put a lot of software development companies in financial danger, not only the smallest ones.
In fact, I must be sure that it will work before entering in this way.