CBPaint: looking for a Deinterlace-Filter ?

A forum dedicated to MacroSystem CBPaint.
Post Reply
User avatar
Volker
Posts: 59
Joined: 13 Mar 2007, 08:48
Location: Hagen, Germany
Contact:

CBPaint: looking for a Deinterlace-Filter ?

Post by Volker » 12 Dec 2007, 09:44

Hi,
I am currently working on a CBPaint project (similar to TVPaint animation) in PAL video.
I have some rather small objects to animate. They show this typical line flickering effects on thin lines with high contrast (black on white).
Is there any way to reduce this flickering effect? I tried the unsharpen effects with no success. By the way I don't have any other special effects for deinterlacing video in my editing software.

Thanks for your input.

Volker

User avatar
Mike
Posts: 987
Joined: 16 Feb 2006, 08:58

Post by Mike » 12 Dec 2007, 13:26

Hello Volker,

Tell me if it gives the result you want :

FX -> Stylize -> Convolution on your objects,
"Matrix : Edit" and try this
0 1 0
0 2 0
0 1 0

( if you have a transparent background, try to check "Use Alpha" )
TVPaint Team

User avatar
Volker
Posts: 59
Joined: 13 Mar 2007, 08:48
Location: Hagen, Germany
Contact:

Post by Volker » 12 Dec 2007, 13:41

Mike,
thanks, but on this project I had to use Smart Edit 4, so I can not install CBPaint 2 and so I don't have the convolution effect :oops:

Volker

User avatar
Mike
Posts: 987
Joined: 16 Feb 2006, 08:58

Post by Mike » 12 Dec 2007, 14:51

A thing you can do :

_ select your layer as a custom brush
_ "Edit" the custom brush with Y %2, don't forget to "apply changes"
_ apply the new custom brush on a new layer
_ select again the new layer as a custom brush
_ "Edit" it with Y x2, "apply changes"
_ and apply your last custom brush on a new layer
TVPaint Team

User avatar
Volker
Posts: 59
Joined: 13 Mar 2007, 08:48
Location: Hagen, Germany
Contact:

Post by Volker » 12 Dec 2007, 15:22

looks much better, thanks

but I am getting the feeling that I am loosing 50% of the vertical resolution, right ? :?

but in my case it will improve the graphics when displayed on a CRT monitor...

a true "deinterlace" effect would be a nice add-on for TVPaint / CBPaint (enhancement request)

User avatar
ZigOtto
Posts: 4103
Joined: 17 Feb 2006, 22:50
Location: south-Petazonia

Post by ZigOtto » 12 Dec 2007, 17:33

Volker wrote:... a true "deinterlace" effect would be a nice add-on for TVPaint / CBPaint (enhancement request)
specially when the filter is already existing since Mirage 1.0 (... even Aura if my memory don't betray me)
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Volker
Posts: 59
Joined: 13 Mar 2007, 08:48
Location: Hagen, Germany
Contact:

Post by Volker » 13 Dec 2007, 08:16

hmmmm.... here at work I have to edit a project with CBPaint... and there I can not find the "fix motion" effect...

Mike ?

User avatar
Mike
Posts: 987
Joined: 16 Feb 2006, 08:58

Post by Mike » 13 Dec 2007, 13:10

The "fix motion" effect wasn't in the FX panel, that's why it isn't included in CBP.
And on Casablanca, normally you can't use different formats at the same time ( interlace, progressive, ... ).

But if you think this effect ( "fix motion" ) can be usefull and/or necessary, I think it can be added.
TVPaint Team

User avatar
Volker
Posts: 59
Joined: 13 Mar 2007, 08:48
Location: Hagen, Germany
Contact:

Post by Volker » 19 Dec 2007, 16:01

hmmm, ok... usually you won't need that effect though you could mix interlaced and progressive video in one project via the clipboard function...

BUT: a special effect to deinterlace brushes, layers, projects, the display, whatever would be VERY nice to have...

You know I am editing video and it is a pain for the eyes to see flickering lines and details on the TV monitor... :roll:

User avatar
Hervé
Site Admin
Posts: 3490
Joined: 08 Feb 2006, 17:00
Location: Metz France
Contact:

Post by Hervé » 19 Dec 2007, 16:14

OK, it will be in the next update
Hervé ADAM, TVPaint Team

User avatar
Volker
Posts: 59
Joined: 13 Mar 2007, 08:48
Location: Hagen, Germany
Contact:

Post by Volker » 19 Dec 2007, 16:25

great, thanks!

Lou Bruno
Posts: 41
Joined: 02 Apr 2007, 21:24

Post by Lou Bruno » 20 Dec 2007, 01:13

Volker....good request!!!!


Lou in the USA
Volker wrote:great, thanks!

Lou Bruno
Posts: 41
Joined: 02 Apr 2007, 21:24

Post by Lou Bruno » 20 Dec 2007, 20:51

There are 13 columns. Are these settings for the first THREE on top?
I want to give it a try.

Mike wrote:Hello Volker,

Tell me if it gives the result you want :

FX -> Stylize -> Convolution on your objects,
"Matrix : Edit" and try this
0 1 0
0 2 0
0 1 0

( if you have a transparent background, try to check "Use Alpha" )

User avatar
Volker
Posts: 59
Joined: 13 Mar 2007, 08:48
Location: Hagen, Germany
Contact:

Post by Volker » 21 Dec 2007, 08:34

It works with the Convolution effect. Great!

Lou, you have to use the collumns around the center of the matrix.
Volker Hill

CBPaint 1+2, Casablanca Solitaire, Enterprise MAX, Bogart SE
TVPaint Animation Pro 9, Wacom Intuos 3

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests