Audio problems

This topic is dedicated to Open Beta versions. Post here your comment, bugs notifications and ideas about the Android version !
Locked
sabelotodo
Posts: 3
Joined: 30 Oct 2011, 18:07

Audio problems

Post by sabelotodo » 30 Oct 2011, 19:16

Hi,

I have been using TVPaint on Linux for a while now. I'm happy with the drawing and animation tools (although it took a while to get used to some things), but I've found the audio handling to be so buggy that it seems impossible to finish my project using only TVPaint Linux. It seems I will either have to add the audio later in another program or find some Windows computer to finish it on. I haven't tried it on Windows yet (since I only use Linux) so I don't know for sure if it works any better, but I guess so since other people get things done.

Initially I had some problems with the speed of the playback, but I was able to figure that out. My files had different sampling rates, not all of them were in stereo and the project frame rate was wrong. I've fixed that. The remaining problem is that TVPaint adds static noise in the background randomly. I am sometimes able to get rid of it by choosing "reload all sounds files", restarting TVPaint or various other tricks, but the more audio files I add the less likely I seem to be to be able to circumvent the bugs. I spend so much time being angry and trying to get rid of that terrible noise that eventually I just get tired and give up without having made any progress at all with the project itself.

I hope it will be possible to solve this problem. Let me know what I can do to help you fix it. TVPaint is excellent except for this bug.

I record most of the audio (my own voice) with Audacity. The audio files sound as they should in other players. I tried some files from the internet too -- no change.

TvPaint Animation Pro 9.5 (9.5.18)
Fedora 15, 32-bit.
Intel® Core™2 Duo CPU E7500 @ 2.93GHz × 2

Stefan

User avatar
idragosani
Posts: 987
Joined: 06 May 2008, 00:39
Location: Germantown MD
Contact:

Re: Audio problems

Post by idragosani » 31 Oct 2011, 00:02

I have a similar problem loading audio into the Linux version (very distorted sound). I use Ardour, for the most part, for working out synch stuff for dialog and use the xsheet in TVPaint (kinda old school, but it works).
Brett W. McCoy -- http://www.brettwmccoy.com
TVP Pro 10 : Intel i7 2600 3.4 GHz : 8GB RAM : Ubuntu Studio 14.04 : Cintiq 21UX

User avatar
Mads Juul
Posts: 3990
Joined: 02 May 2007, 19:18
Location: Viborg,Denmark
Contact:

Re: Audio problems

Post by Mads Juul » 31 Oct 2011, 08:02

try update to 9.5.21
I think it should solve some of the bugs. And please keep posting the bug reports for the linux version so we can get It running like Windows and mac.
I took the jump from windows to linux 4 month ago and there was a lot of bugs in the audio I have reported the bugs and it is getting better. try to update first.

-Mads
Mads Juul
Storyboard Artist
blog: http://mjstoryboard.blogspot.dk/
Mail: mjstoryboard@gmail .com

Windows 10, 64 bit i7-4790 CPU 4.00 Hz,32 GB RAM, With TVP Animation 11 Pro (11.0.2-64bits)
2 Monitors 1920X1080 pixels + 1 Wacom Cintiq 21UX 2

User avatar
idragosani
Posts: 987
Joined: 06 May 2008, 00:39
Location: Germantown MD
Contact:

Re: Audio problems

Post by idragosani » 31 Oct 2011, 10:05

I am using 9.5.21, the audio doesn't work well in that version either
Brett W. McCoy -- http://www.brettwmccoy.com
TVP Pro 10 : Intel i7 2600 3.4 GHz : 8GB RAM : Ubuntu Studio 14.04 : Cintiq 21UX

User avatar
Mads Juul
Posts: 3990
Joined: 02 May 2007, 19:18
Location: Viborg,Denmark
Contact:

Re: Audio problems

Post by Mads Juul » 31 Oct 2011, 10:39

idragosani wrote:I am using 9.5.21, the audio doesn't work well in that version either
Then please post a description of the bugs. So we can make the developers solve these bugs. TVPaint is a commercial software so the sound should of course work as flawless on Linux as on Windows or mac. in my opinion.
Mads Juul
Storyboard Artist
blog: http://mjstoryboard.blogspot.dk/
Mail: mjstoryboard@gmail .com

Windows 10, 64 bit i7-4790 CPU 4.00 Hz,32 GB RAM, With TVP Animation 11 Pro (11.0.2-64bits)
2 Monitors 1920X1080 pixels + 1 Wacom Cintiq 21UX 2

User avatar
idragosani
Posts: 987
Joined: 06 May 2008, 00:39
Location: Germantown MD
Contact:

Re: Audio problems

Post by idragosani » 31 Oct 2011, 10:52

It's as described above -- the audio playback is very distorted and clipped, like too much gain has been applied to it.

This is a feature request, but it would be cool if TVPaint could synch to Jack transport on Linux and OS X, then you could use external audio and MIDI software like Ardour or Rosegarden or Audacity and have it synched to the playback (see xjadeo -- http://xjadeo.sourceforge.net/" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;). Wonder if this would be feasible through a plugin...?
Brett W. McCoy -- http://www.brettwmccoy.com
TVP Pro 10 : Intel i7 2600 3.4 GHz : 8GB RAM : Ubuntu Studio 14.04 : Cintiq 21UX

sabelotodo
Posts: 3
Joined: 30 Oct 2011, 18:07

Re: Audio problems

Post by sabelotodo » 31 Oct 2011, 19:09

Hi again, and thanks for your help.

I'm glad to hear there's an update. Hopefully it will solve or mitigate the problems. However, I wasn't able to install the file. I uninstalled the old version and clicked on the new rpm to install it, but the TVPaint icon didn't reappear where it should have. When I tried to install it from the commandline instead I got this error:

Code: Select all

[root@localhost TVP Animation 9.5.21 Pro (linux-32-rpm)]# rpm -ivh TVP\ Animation\ 9.5.21.6469f\ Pro\ \(32\).rpm 
Preparing...                ########################################### [100%]
/var/tmp/rpm-tmp.IEZFTT: line 3: /usr/share/debconf/confmodule: No such file or directory
error: %pre(tvp.animation.9.pro-9.5-2.i386) scriptlet failed, exit status 1
error: tvp.animation.9.pro-9.5-2.i386: install failed
It looks like someone made a mistake and included a script meant for Debian in the Fedora package. Did I do something wrong or is there a problem with the rpm?

User avatar
Eric Scholl
Site Admin
Posts: 1240
Joined: 04 Apr 2011, 14:40

Re: Audio problems

Post by Eric Scholl » 02 Nov 2011, 08:23

Hi sabelotodo,

We have some problems with the RPM version of TVPaint. We are working on it, and all should be fixed in the next days.

Of course, I will tell you, when it is fixed.


idragosani, can you tell me rapidly what are your problems with audio in the 9.5.21 ? Maybe can I do something... :wink:
Eric Scholl, TVPaint Team.

User avatar
idragosani
Posts: 987
Joined: 06 May 2008, 00:39
Location: Germantown MD
Contact:

Re: Audio problems

Post by idragosani » 02 Nov 2011, 10:36

Well, any audio I load into TVPaint (usually 48kHz sampling), the playback is very distorted and clipped, like there is too much gain put on it. I haven't tried very many experiments with different kinds of WAV files. These are also 24 bit files, so maybe it might work better with 16 bit/44.1 kHz files.
Brett W. McCoy -- http://www.brettwmccoy.com
TVP Pro 10 : Intel i7 2600 3.4 GHz : 8GB RAM : Ubuntu Studio 14.04 : Cintiq 21UX

sabelotodo
Posts: 3
Joined: 30 Oct 2011, 18:07

Re: Audio problems

Post by sabelotodo » 05 Nov 2011, 11:01

I didn't want to wait, so I fixed the rpm myself with rpmrebuild. I just erased the contents of the Debian script. Anyway, it works much better now. Thanks! I have only tested it very briefly but there's a clear improvement. I'll let you know if I run into more problems.

User avatar
Eric Scholl
Site Admin
Posts: 1240
Joined: 04 Apr 2011, 14:40

Re: Audio problems

Post by Eric Scholl » 07 Nov 2011, 08:19

Happy to see you found a way to install TVPaint :D

Anyway, the new RPM version of TVPaint is now available, so please redownload it through this link : http://www.tvpaint.com/v2/content/artic ... update.php

idragosani, I cannot reproduce your sound bugs, so please download it too and reinstall it. For me, everything is good with this last version.
Eric Scholl, TVPaint Team.

Locked

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest