empty frames

This section is dedicated to the feature & improvement requests (be sure what you are asking does not exist yet in TVPaint Animation ;) )
User avatar
slowtiger
Posts: 2725
Joined: 08 May 2008, 21:10
Location: berlin, germany
Contact:

empty frames

Post by slowtiger » 14 Jan 2022, 15:24

Does TVP know whether a frame contains pixels or not? If so: I'd like to have the option to make empty frames (instances) visually different from others. Maybe grayed out, or with a horizontal line, like in old X-sheets.
Discuss?
TVP 10.0.18, Mac Pro Quadcore 3 GHz, 16 GB RAM, OS 10.11, QT 7.7.3

Svengali
Posts: 1488
Joined: 28 Dec 2006, 10:08
Contact:

Re: empty frames

Post by Svengali » 14 Jan 2022, 16:48

slowtiger wrote:
14 Jan 2022, 15:24
Does TVP know whether a frame contains pixels or not? If so: I'd like to have the option to make empty frames (instances) visually different from others. Maybe grayed out, or with a horizontal line, like in old X-sheets.
Discuss?
george command to test for empty frame - a short script could test all frames in layer and somehow mark those found (change those frame-names to"empty" maybe).

tv_imagegetbound ["format" "xyxy"|"xywh"]

Get the bounding box of the image content

[PARAMETERS]
"format" "xyxy"|"xywh" enum The bounding box format
_ "xyxy": X1 Y1 X2 Y2
_ "xywh": X Y Width Height (default)

[RETURN]
"empty" string An empty image

[RETURN]
oX1 oY1 oX2 oY2

oX1 oY1 int int The top-left corner of the bounding box
oX2 oY2 int int The bottom-right corner of the bounding box

[RETURN]
oX oY oW oH

oX oY int int The top-left corner of the bounding box
oW oH int int The size of the bounding box

[ERROR]
-1 int No valid format
Desktop: tvp Pro 11.0.10-64bit, Win8.1 - 24GB ram -2TB HHD - 256GB SSD - Wacom Cintiq 16, driver 6.3.36-1
Android Tablet: rel. 11, Samsung Galaxy Note10.1 - 32GB internal - microSD 32GB
Android Tablet: rel. 11.5, Samsung Galaxy Tab S7plus - 128GB internal - no microSD yet

Xavier
Site Admin
Posts: 1652
Joined: 01 Oct 2019, 11:08

Re: empty frames

Post by Xavier » 14 Jan 2022, 18:55

slowtiger wrote:
14 Jan 2022, 15:24
Does TVP know whether a frame contains pixels or not? If so: I'd like to have the option to make empty frames (instances) visually different from others. Maybe grayed out, or with a horizontal line, like in old X-sheets.
Discuss?
Technically yes, it is possible to know if a frame is blank :wink:
sorry, I did my best

User avatar
Peter Wassink
Posts: 4020
Joined: 17 Feb 2006, 15:38
Location: Amsterdam
Contact:

Re: empty frames

Post by Peter Wassink » 21 Jan 2022, 14:23

slowtiger wrote:
14 Jan 2022, 15:24
Does TVP know whether a frame contains pixels or not? If so: I'd like to have the option to make empty frames (instances) visually different from others. Maybe grayed out, or with a horizontal line, like in old X-sheets.
Discuss?
Yes! a form of grey-out would be usefull, especially with the increased project resolution of today,
it is often very hard to tell if a frame contains a drawing.
Peter Wassink - 2D animator
• PC: Win11/64 Pro - AMD Ryzen 9 5900X 12-Core - 64Gb RAM
• laptop: Win10/64 Pro - i7-4600@2.1 GHz - 16Gb RAM

User avatar
D.T. Nethery
Posts: 3296
Joined: 27 Sep 2006, 19:19

Re: empty frames

Post by D.T. Nethery » 20 Feb 2022, 15:37

slowtiger wrote:
14 Jan 2022, 15:24
Does TVP know whether a frame contains pixels or not? If so: I'd like to have the option to make empty frames (instances) visually different from others.

Maybe grayed out, or with a horizontal line, like in old X-sheets.
+1. I think this would be a good feature to add to the Timeline to tell at a glance when a frame (instance) is blank .
Blank Frame on Timeline.jpg

Animator, TVPaint Beta-Tester, Animation Educator and Consultant.
MAC OS 10.14.6 , Macbook Pro Retina 15-inch, Late 2013,
2.3 GHz Intel Core i7, 16 GB Memory , TVPaint PRO 11.5.3 - 64bit
Wacom Cintiq 21 UX ,Wacom Intuos Pro 5 , Wacom driver version 6.3.39-1

Xavier
Site Admin
Posts: 1652
Joined: 01 Oct 2019, 11:08

Re: empty frames

Post by Xavier » 02 Mar 2022, 17:28

Hi, here's a tentative. What do you think ?
TVPaint_empty_frames.webm
(1.98 MiB) Downloaded 138 times
I wonder if this should be implemented as a setting or as a layer option. What would you say ?
sorry, I did my best

tribute27
Posts: 51
Joined: 28 Aug 2015, 18:57

Re: empty frames

Post by tribute27 » 02 Mar 2022, 21:16

Xavier wrote:
02 Mar 2022, 17:28
Hi, here's a tentative. What do you think ?
TVPaint_empty_frames.webm

I wonder if this should be implemented as a setting or as a layer option. What would you say ?
That looks great! For me I think I would prefer it as a setting in the preferences like what was shown. My only concern is when someone is zoomed out enough, it might be confused as a red Image Mark. If possible, maybe the red color could be extended to one of the little squares? Otherwise though, it's awesome. Thank you!

User avatar
slowtiger
Posts: 2725
Joined: 08 May 2008, 21:10
Location: berlin, germany
Contact:

Re: empty frames

Post by slowtiger » 02 Mar 2022, 22:41

I think it should be a middle gray instead.
TVP 10.0.18, Mac Pro Quadcore 3 GHz, 16 GB RAM, OS 10.11, QT 7.7.3

User avatar
Peter Wassink
Posts: 4020
Joined: 17 Feb 2006, 15:38
Location: Amsterdam
Contact:

Re: empty frames

Post by Peter Wassink » 02 Mar 2022, 23:00

I like that we get this extra information, i'm for it.
I'm not sure about the Red color though, could it be done with grey?
because what happens when a layer has a red colorgroup active? so i think a color neutral solution would be better.
Peter Wassink - 2D animator
• PC: Win11/64 Pro - AMD Ryzen 9 5900X 12-Core - 64Gb RAM
• laptop: Win10/64 Pro - i7-4600@2.1 GHz - 16Gb RAM

User avatar
Peter Wassink
Posts: 4020
Joined: 17 Feb 2006, 15:38
Location: Amsterdam
Contact:

Re: empty frames

Post by Peter Wassink » 02 Mar 2022, 23:16

since the empty frames are transparent
maybe a checkerboard as symbol?

the checkers as a symbol of the digital tabula rasa
i think it would work to convey those frames are empty

in this example i show a content on a checkerboard BG in the project view as a worst case... just to see if that would be confusing.
since th timeline also displays the BGcheckerboard when tthis is selected in the layerpanel BGcolor option.

so as soon as you would draw on an empty (no content) frame.
the timeline will change from the checkerboard symbol to the current image (in this case: a red line on a checkerboard BG)
if the project BG option is set to color... then off course that would also show up in the timeline.

again i did both in this example because it could happen and it would still have to work.
i think it does
empty- symbol.png
empty- symbol.png (43.34 KiB) Viewed 3488 times
Last edited by Peter Wassink on 03 Mar 2022, 01:41, edited 4 times in total.
Peter Wassink - 2D animator
• PC: Win11/64 Pro - AMD Ryzen 9 5900X 12-Core - 64Gb RAM
• laptop: Win10/64 Pro - i7-4600@2.1 GHz - 16Gb RAM

User avatar
Peter Wassink
Posts: 4020
Joined: 17 Feb 2006, 15:38
Location: Amsterdam
Contact:

Re: empty frames

Post by Peter Wassink » 02 Mar 2022, 23:28

when extending it could simply extend this checker pattern.

the colors should probably have to be different from the default checkerpattern colors(the A&B BackGround colors)
test.png
test.png (49.91 KiB) Viewed 3485 times
Peter Wassink - 2D animator
• PC: Win11/64 Pro - AMD Ryzen 9 5900X 12-Core - 64Gb RAM
• laptop: Win10/64 Pro - i7-4600@2.1 GHz - 16Gb RAM

Xavier
Site Admin
Posts: 1652
Joined: 01 Oct 2019, 11:08

Re: empty frames

Post by Xavier » 03 Mar 2022, 12:48

slowtiger wrote:
02 Mar 2022, 22:41
I think it should be a middle gray instead.
Peter Wassink wrote:
02 Mar 2022, 23:00
I like that we get this extra information, i'm for it.
I'm not sure about the Red color though, could it be done with grey?
because what happens when a layer has a red colorgroup active? so i think a color neutral solution would be better.


Ok, I understand that the mark colors should match the current color theme.
Like that ?
Capture d’écran_2022-03-03_11-22-54.png
Capture d’écran_2022-03-03_11-22-54.png (31.87 KiB) Viewed 3419 times
sorry, I did my best

Xavier
Site Admin
Posts: 1652
Joined: 01 Oct 2019, 11:08

Re: empty frames

Post by Xavier » 03 Mar 2022, 13:48

Peter Wassink wrote:
02 Mar 2022, 23:28
when extending it could simply extend this checker pattern.

the colors should probably have to be different from the default checkerpattern colors(the A&B BackGround colors)
test.png
So it would be possible to draw a checker pattern. But, as you state, if we stick to the default pattern there's a risk to confuse the thumbnail with a background set to check. So it can't be A&B background colors.
Obviously it can't be colors A & B either ! :?
sorry, I did my best

Xavier
Site Admin
Posts: 1652
Joined: 01 Oct 2019, 11:08

Re: empty frames

Post by Xavier » 03 Mar 2022, 14:07

What if I do a checker pattern with the layer background color and the notes background color ?
I'd rather keep the vertical bar, because it remains visible even when you zoom out.

It is possible to use the color group when drawing the vertical bar. Would you agree with that ? for instance :
Capture d’écran_2022-03-03_12-41-58.png
Capture d’écran_2022-03-03_12-41-58.png (40.01 KiB) Viewed 3402 times
sorry, I did my best

User avatar
D.T. Nethery
Posts: 3296
Joined: 27 Sep 2006, 19:19

Re: empty frames

Post by D.T. Nethery » 07 Mar 2022, 22:52

Blank frame indicated with checkerboard , plus extended horizontal dotted line showing the duration of the blank frame would be ok.

I still like marking the blank frame with an X and the extended horizontal dotted line showing the duration of the blank frame . It appeals to me because it hearkens back to ye olden days of Exposure Sheets where it was industry-wide usage to indicate a blank frame with an X and a (vertical) line extended down the sheet to show the duration of the blank frame.

BlankFrame_on_TVP_Timeline.jpg
Image

A quick glance at the Exposure Sheet shows where there are blank frames, indicated by X .

Lion_King_XSheet_SEQ_04.2_SCENE_016.jpg

Animator, TVPaint Beta-Tester, Animation Educator and Consultant.
MAC OS 10.14.6 , Macbook Pro Retina 15-inch, Late 2013,
2.3 GHz Intel Core i7, 16 GB Memory , TVPaint PRO 11.5.3 - 64bit
Wacom Cintiq 21 UX ,Wacom Intuos Pro 5 , Wacom driver version 6.3.39-1

Post Reply