Animatic Requests.

This section is dedicated to the feature & improvement requests (be sure what you are asking does not exist yet in TVPaint Animation ;) )
User avatar
Fabrice
Posts: 10077
Joined: 17 Jul 2007, 15:00
Contact:

Re: Animatic Requests.

Post by Fabrice » 06 Mar 2013, 13:37

MrChoy wrote:Sad to say I have pretty much given up on the 'animatic' feature. I now just export the stills and edit them in Sony Vegas. It is way quicker with that work flow.
Hopefully in the future this aspect of TVP can be enhanced.
we are aware of the limiations of the tool, and some changes are already in the "to do" list.
but I'm curious, what would be the most helpful for you ?
Fabrice Debarge

User avatar
Paul Fierlinger
Posts: 7751
Joined: 03 May 2008, 12:05
Location: Pennsylvania USA
Contact:

Re: Animatic Requests.

Post by Paul Fierlinger » 08 Mar 2013, 22:47

While waiting for the answer :wink: it occurred to me that the ideal setup might be to have both Project views visible and active at the same time. While stretching and shrinking the clips in the Project Tab's Timeline view on one screen, we could work on the layers in the dual screen. Wouldn't that give us the best of both wolds?
Paul
http://www.slocumfilm.com
Desktop PC Win10-Pro -64 bit OS; 32.0 GB RAM
Processor: i7-2600 CPU@3.40GHz
AMD FirePro V7900; Intuos4 Wacom tablet

Elodie
Posts: 13913
Joined: 06 Jan 2009, 09:53
Location: Metz

Re: Animatic Requests.

Post by Elodie » 11 Mar 2013, 09:17

I already had this kind of feature request (about having the storyboard and the layer stack at the same time). that makes sense for me, but I don't know if it's possible to do. It's time for a developer to bring his voice ^^

User avatar
Fabrice
Posts: 10077
Joined: 17 Jul 2007, 15:00
Contact:

Re: Animatic Requests.

Post by Fabrice » 12 Mar 2013, 20:12

IMO, it adds some development, since you will need to update a windows as soon as you change something in the other one (for exemple a clip lengh or soundtrack).
Some other focus problems might occur too. (for exemple : when do we know that you want to move a clip ? When do we know that you want to enter and work in it ?)

I would say "not impossible in itself", but maybe not an easy and fast development + some unknown/un-anticipated interface problems.
Fabrice Debarge

User avatar
Peter Wassink
Posts: 3634
Joined: 17 Feb 2006, 15:38
Location: Amsterdam (Basse-Lotharingie)
Contact:

Re: Animatic Requests: Rolling Edit

Post by Peter Wassink » 22 Mar 2015, 11:07

i'd like to bring this thread back up.
I request you introduce the rolling edit option in the project view

i'm currently working on an animatic and have great difficulty re-timing it
what i miss in the project timeline are handles like we have in the clip timeline.
Now when i change the length of a clip, all the following clips move with it, the total project length changes ,
sometimes this is what you want .
But other times i only want to adjust the position of a cut between two clips, without it affecting the position of all the following clips.
Its a very basic thing that shouldn't be to difficult to achieve in the current architecture ( not as complex as say...introducing layers in the project view )
in fact this seems rather easy!
Just a case of shifting the out point of one clip while simultaneously shifting the in-point of the next for the same amount.
when the in and out point of the following clip hit the same frame then this clip gets hidden and the in point of the next clip can be adjusted

i like the solution that was mentioned in this thread of adding handles similar to those in the clip timeline view.
this would give great consistancy(my favourite tvpaint improvement word) in the user experience.

Another problem regarding this is the sound.
when changing the layerlength for one clip and as the following clips shift their position the sounds remains put, resulting in an off-sync sequence.
project timeline.gif
project timeline.gif (41.07 KiB) Viewed 8351 times
Peter Wassink - 2D animator
• PC: Win10/64 Home - Xeon Quadcore E5410@2.33Ghz - 12Gb RAM
• laptop: Win10/64 Pro - i7-4600@2.1 GHz - 8Gb RAM

User avatar
schwarzgrau
Posts: 1087
Joined: 23 Jan 2012, 22:08
Location: Offenbach / Germany
Contact:

Re: Animatic Requests.

Post by schwarzgrau » 23 Mar 2015, 00:39

Excellent suggestion Peter. +1 from me.
Mac OS X 10.13.6 / TVP 11.0.8 PRO / Cintiq 22HD
Mac OS X 10.13.6 / TVP 11.0.8 PRO / Cintiq Companion 2
SCHWARZGRAU.COM

User avatar
Sewie
Posts: 1259
Joined: 18 Jun 2008, 11:57
Location: The Netherlands, Europe
Contact:

Re: Animatic Requests.

Post by Sewie » 23 Mar 2015, 19:39

Me too! +1
Michael Sewnarain - Website
Windows 10/64b - TVP11.0.8 - Pro/64b - Cintiq24HD

Post Reply