OTTAWA 2010

To talk about animation Annecy, CTN Expo, Zagreb, Ottawa, Hiroshima... and many other festivals !
Paul Fierlinger

OTTAWA 2010

Post by Paul Fierlinger »

Will anyone else be in Ottawa from this group? I'll be there tomorrow in a new role: chaperon. It's part of my duties as a lecturer and it's my first time to a festival with no film in competition. We can all meet up somewhere and if no one shows up I'll have my laptop with me and I can squat under the bridge with the vagrants to see if I can sell any of them on TVP. :)
Paul
http://www.slocumfilm.com
Desktop PC Win10-Pro -64 bit OS; 32.0 GB RAM
Processor: i7-2600 CPU@3.40GHz
AMD FirePro V7900; Intuos4 Wacom tablet
Paul Fierlinger

Re: OTTAWA 2010

Post by Paul Fierlinger »

The following is animation historian, film critic, and San Francisco based lecturer, Karl Cohen's review of events at this year's Ottawa. The views are his only and do not necessarily coincide with my own.

OTTAWA 2010 WELCOMES CONTROVERSIAL ANIMATION

The Ottawa International Animation Festival is North Americas only major international animation festival and television animation conference. Besides the annual competition screenings, the 2010 event included several special programs of films from Japan, a show of work from the Czech Republic, films by women, Jerry Becks The Inappropriate for Children Show, my program Lets Go Crazy! that shows how animation has depicted mental health problems over the years, and other unique screenings. Master classes were held with Caroline Leaf, Torill Kove and Steven Woloshen and workshops were held on voice acting for animation, storyboards and other topics. Disney and Pixar made a special presentation and the festival introduced the latest prototype of the SANDDE stereoscopic computer system that will be available for purchase in 2011. There were special events for teens and younger kids and colleges had recruiters at booths to answer questions about their programs.