How much do you pay a clean up artist?

To talk about anything else
ScottFarrell

How much do you pay a clean up artist?

Post by ScottFarrell »

Hi everyone, Im working on a short film and I'd like to hire a clean up artist in the near future. I was wondering if anyone could tell me how much to pay as I have no experience doing this before. Do some people pay per drawing? Paying per second of footage wouldn't work for me since some shots are on 2's and some shots are on 6's or 8's. Also what ou would pay a student vs. a professional would help too. Much appreciation for any advice!! Thanks! -Scott
slowtiger

Re: How much do you pay a clean up artist?

Post by slowtiger »

You pay according to time. If the cleanup takes a month full time, you pay enough for a month's living. You know how fast you are, so you should be able to calculate the necessary time. We don't know how complicated your characters are and how clean your roughs.

I have an old list of payments for studio jobs, all paid per second, separated like his:
- key cleanup
- key cleanup and inbetween
- inbetween
all with different rates, depending on feature film or TV work, freelancer or employee, and sometimes an assistant would earn some more if he was paired with an especially "difficult" animator (very messy roughs).
TVP 10.0.18 and 11.0 MacPro Quadcore 3GHz 16GB OS 10.6.8 Quicktime 7.6.6
TVP 11.0 and 11.7 MacPro 12core 3GHz 32GB OS 10.11 Quicktime 10.7.3
TVP 11.7 Mac Mini M2pro 32GB OS 13.5
D.T. Nethery

Post by D.T. Nethery »