Importing EDL to Premiere

Please use this part to report bugs & errors, ask questions & "How to..."
Post Reply
User avatar
D.T. Nethery
Posts: 2622
Joined: 27 Sep 2006, 19:19

Importing EDL to Premiere

Post by D.T. Nethery » 16 Jan 2020, 14:14

I've never used the Publish > EDL function before . Now I need it to export a project for editing in Premiere. I can't get the EDL to load into Premiere.

In the User Manual it says this about EDL :
https://www.tvpaint.com/doc/tvp11/index ... ublish-edl

EDL export allows to export each clip in a Quicktime (in the 32-bits version on Windows and Mac OSX only) or AVI video and generate an Edit List file too. This EDL file, when executed in a compositing software, allows to load all videos from your animatic you have just exported, in the good order.
On Adobe's support site , https://helpx.adobe.com/premiere-pro/us ... aries.html it says:
You can import project files in the EDL file format.

- Select File > Import, and browse to the project file containing the desired EDL file, and select it.
- Click Open.
I do this and it imports the EDL project , but all the files have question marks (?) and when I try to put the project into the Premiere timeline it shows the clips as "Media Offline" .

What am I doing wrong ?
Screen Shot 2020-01-16 at 7.55.12 AM.jpg

.
MAC OS 10.12.6 , Macbook Pro Retina 15-inch, Mid 2015,
2.5 GHz Intel Core i7, 16 GB Memory , TVPaint PRO 11.0.8, 64bit -
Wacom Cintiq 21 UX - Wacom Intuos Pro 5 - driver version 6.3.20-8

User avatar
Hironori Takagi
Posts: 115
Joined: 14 May 2018, 10:15
Location: Tokyo, Japan
Contact:

Re: Importing EDL to Premiere

Post by Hironori Takagi » 17 Jan 2020, 05:01

I tried it, too.
The folder path is not recognized correctly unless it is D: \\ xxx.mov.
The file path is not recognized correctly unless it is D: \ xxx.mov.
In other words, there seems to be a problem with the ability to recognize the path of Premiere.
200117.jpg
TVPaint 11.0.9, Windows10 Pro, DELL Precision M3800 / Mac OS 10.15, Apple Mac Pro(Late 2013)

User avatar
D.T. Nethery
Posts: 2622
Joined: 27 Sep 2006, 19:19

Re: Importing EDL to Premiere

Post by D.T. Nethery » 19 Jan 2020, 15:25

Hironori Takagi wrote:
17 Jan 2020, 05:01
I tried it, too.

The folder path is not recognized correctly unless it is D: \\ xxx.mov.
The file path is not recognized correctly unless it is D: \ xxx.mov.

In other words, there seems to be a problem with the ability to recognize the path of Premiere.
Thank you for confirming the problem .

Your understanding is that it's a problem TVPaint , because the EDL file generated by TVPaint is not following the required file/folder path of Premiere ?
Or is the problem with Premiere not being able to properly read the path to the EDL ?

I hope someone from TVPaint Co. can confirm whether this is a bug in TVPaint or if I should be sending a message to Adobe Premiere Support about the problem.
MAC OS 10.12.6 , Macbook Pro Retina 15-inch, Mid 2015,
2.5 GHz Intel Core i7, 16 GB Memory , TVPaint PRO 11.0.8, 64bit -
Wacom Cintiq 21 UX - Wacom Intuos Pro 5 - driver version 6.3.20-8

User avatar
Thierry
Site Admin
Posts: 2250
Joined: 07 Jan 2013, 08:28

Re: Importing EDL to Premiere

Post by Thierry » 20 Jan 2020, 16:42

I don't think that we've modified anything on the EDL publishing in years (I'm almost ready to bet it hasn't changed since TVPaint 9)
I would assume that something changed on Premiere's side.

I'd like to know when the bug started to appear though.
------------------------------
Si votre question a trouvé réponse, marquez votre sujet comme Résolu. ~ If your question has been answered, mark your topic as Solved.

User avatar
D.T. Nethery
Posts: 2622
Joined: 27 Sep 2006, 19:19

Re: Importing EDL to Premiere

Post by D.T. Nethery » 21 Jan 2020, 04:35

Thierry wrote:
20 Jan 2020, 16:42

I'd like to know when the bug started to appear though.
I'm not sure . I've never tried using the Publish to EDL function before .

I suppose a roundabout way to get to Premiere would be to export the clips from TVPaint using the JSON script to take it to AE , then AE to Premiere . But it would be nice if the EDL method worked.
MAC OS 10.12.6 , Macbook Pro Retina 15-inch, Mid 2015,
2.5 GHz Intel Core i7, 16 GB Memory , TVPaint PRO 11.0.8, 64bit -
Wacom Cintiq 21 UX - Wacom Intuos Pro 5 - driver version 6.3.20-8

Post Reply