What video WILL import into TVP?

Please use this part to report bugs & errors, ask questions & "How to..."
User avatar
dgrantham
Posts: 68
Joined: 14 May 2008, 15:20

What video WILL import into TVP?

Post by dgrantham » 02 May 2020, 02:41

Nothing I create in Sorenson Squeeze from my AVID setup will import into TVPaint by any method. I haven't tried any other video this session, but this video uploads fine to Youtube.

1920 x 1080. 24p Neither .mp4 nor .mov nor .VC1 nor m2v File sizes range from 3 or 4 MB to 14 or 15. (It's only about 20 seconds long)

Whether I attempt to import from Desktop or Thumbdrive. Whether using 32bit or 64 bit TVP

I've ensured the empty project open when importing is 1920 x 1080. Makes no difference.

When I drag and drop, I get a beep and nothing happens.
When I use Open/Import and select the file, the import browser closes and nothing happens. No import window.

RMB>OpenWith results in a blank TVP project.

Is there a current list somewhere of what formats TVP will accept? The list of "acceptable" files in the Open/Import flyout includes Quicktime and Mpeg, but as the above indicates this doesn't seem to be the case.

Studio Pro 10.5.7
Windows 10
i7-7700HQ @ 2.8GHz
16GB Ram
Nvidia Gforce GTX 1050ti
TVPaint10Pro10.5.7-64bit : HPZ400, 6GB, NVidia Quadro 2000, Matrox MxO2/Lenovo Legion Laptop i7700 2.8Ghz GTX1050 16GB
TVPaint Android: Galaxy Note 12.1

User avatar
slowtiger
Posts: 2434
Joined: 08 May 2008, 21:10
Location: berlin, germany
Contact:

Re: What video WILL import into TVP?

Post by slowtiger » 02 May 2020, 08:47

Most often the problem is in the codec, not in the file format. As a rule: TVP should be able to open any codec which it also uses in Export.
TVP 10.0.18, Mac Pro Quadcore 3 GHz, 16 GB RAM, OS 10.11, QT 7.7.3

User avatar
Paul Fierlinger
Posts: 7712
Joined: 03 May 2008, 12:05
Location: Pennsylvania USA
Contact:

Re: What video WILL import into TVP?

Post by Paul Fierlinger » 02 May 2020, 15:31

Doesn't it also depend on how you are importing it? Have you tried click and drag from source onto the TVP GUI?
Paul
http://www.slocumfilm.com
Desktop PC Win10-Pro -64 bit OS; 32.0 GB RAM
Processor: i7-2600 CPU@3.40GHz
AMD FirePro V7900; Intuos4 Wacom tablet

User avatar
dgrantham
Posts: 68
Joined: 14 May 2008, 15:20

Re: What video WILL import into TVP?

Post by dgrantham » 07 May 2020, 17:40

Thanks for your replies. (I apparently didnt have emails turned on.) Good to hear from you both.

These clips can play in VLC so that means the codecs are installed, right?

Dragging from the source results in the same thing as file>import, except I get a beep alert sound.

This is a problem that's nagged me for years, actually, and I've never gotten to the bottom of it.
TVPaint10Pro10.5.7-64bit : HPZ400, 6GB, NVidia Quadro 2000, Matrox MxO2/Lenovo Legion Laptop i7700 2.8Ghz GTX1050 16GB
TVPaint Android: Galaxy Note 12.1

User avatar
slowtiger
Posts: 2434
Joined: 08 May 2008, 21:10
Location: berlin, germany
Contact:

Re: What video WILL import into TVP?

Post by slowtiger » 07 May 2020, 17:43

No, because VLC installs codecs on its own and only for itself, whereas TVP depends on the official video framework of your system.
TVP 10.0.18, Mac Pro Quadcore 3 GHz, 16 GB RAM, OS 10.11, QT 7.7.3

User avatar
dgrantham
Posts: 68
Joined: 14 May 2008, 15:20

Re: What video WILL import into TVP?

Post by dgrantham » 07 May 2020, 17:53

Thanks ST. That may well be it. I guess I'd better look into good codec packages. Some are rather viralish I understand so I welcome any recommendations
TVPaint10Pro10.5.7-64bit : HPZ400, 6GB, NVidia Quadro 2000, Matrox MxO2/Lenovo Legion Laptop i7700 2.8Ghz GTX1050 16GB
TVPaint Android: Galaxy Note 12.1

User avatar
slowtiger
Posts: 2434
Joined: 08 May 2008, 21:10
Location: berlin, germany
Contact:

Re: What video WILL import into TVP?

Post by slowtiger » 07 May 2020, 20:31

"We don't do that in TVP." Fancy codecs are not used during production. You may use them in the very last step when you've assembled and finished your movie in your video editor and export from there. In TVP we mostly use lossless codecs for export since the animation must retain perfect quality through all steps of production.

OTOH importing video material just for reference doesn't need this, so any readable codec will do. TVP will not recognise anything you additionally install outside your systems' video framework, so it'Äs best to stick on what's available. You can use VLC to comfortably export to a readable codec.
TVP 10.0.18, Mac Pro Quadcore 3 GHz, 16 GB RAM, OS 10.11, QT 7.7.3

User avatar
dgrantham
Posts: 68
Joined: 14 May 2008, 15:20

Re: What video WILL import into TVP?

Post by dgrantham » 07 May 2020, 20:46

Thanks ST. I'm confused though. In this case shouldn't it import video with the standard codecs identified in tvp's import browser, if installed codecs won't be recognized? I"m not looking for anything exotic, just the codecs mentioned in the OP and tvp's importer. Shouldn't video with those codecs load without any additional installations?
TVPaint10Pro10.5.7-64bit : HPZ400, 6GB, NVidia Quadro 2000, Matrox MxO2/Lenovo Legion Laptop i7700 2.8Ghz GTX1050 16GB
TVPaint Android: Galaxy Note 12.1

User avatar
slowtiger
Posts: 2434
Joined: 08 May 2008, 21:10
Location: berlin, germany
Contact:

Re: What video WILL import into TVP?

Post by slowtiger » 08 May 2020, 08:26

You're right, those should get imported. In case they don't it's most likely a faulty video file. Do the obvious test: does it open in Quicktime/Windows Media Player? Do other video files open in TVP?
TVP 10.0.18, Mac Pro Quadcore 3 GHz, 16 GB RAM, OS 10.11, QT 7.7.3

User avatar
dgrantham
Posts: 68
Joined: 14 May 2008, 15:20

Re: What video WILL import into TVP?

Post by dgrantham » 08 May 2020, 20:51

Thanks ST

The formats I'm attempting are .mp4, .mov, .m2v, and .vc1.

The .mov and .mp4 versions open in Window Media Player (and VLC).

The .m2v version will open only in VLC

(The .vc1 version won't open in anything.)

None of these clips will import into TVP.

The video in question in this case is 1920 x 1080, 4 seconds in length. 4 versions of the same footage created in Sorenson Squeeze from the same AVID Quicktime reference files (exported from the NLE Timeline). Video only (no audio.) This is the standard export method from Avid. The .mp4 settings used are Sorenson's HD Youtube presets which upload without problems to Youtube. They're less than 4 MB in size each. (I could email them or upload them here to anyone willing to give them a try.)

I don't recall ever successfully importing video files into a TVP 10 studio Pro installation on either of the two computers I have used it on, but it hasn't been a frequent need so I've never troubleshot it. It's arisen on a current project, and I've decided to attempt to troubleshoot this now (one of my lockdown activities)
TVPaint10Pro10.5.7-64bit : HPZ400, 6GB, NVidia Quadro 2000, Matrox MxO2/Lenovo Legion Laptop i7700 2.8Ghz GTX1050 16GB
TVPaint Android: Galaxy Note 12.1

Walimaï
Posts: 3
Joined: 09 May 2020, 12:19

Re: What video WILL import into TVP?

Post by Walimaï » 09 May 2020, 18:27

Hello,

I just registered on the forum for the exact same problem (with the bip and so on). (I have tvpaint pro 10 and windows 8.1)
The thing is that I had a file with an imported video, but I did the mistake to change location of the original file, and there is no video anymore in the layer, it's black.
So the video format was ok, the parameters of my tvpaint file was ok, but I can't import the video anymore, neither in a new project. I tried to put the video file back
but the problem is still there.
TVPaint doesn't even allow me to re upload the file, like in after effects or premiere. He simply suggest me to open another project.
What should I do?

Thank you !

User avatar
slowtiger
Posts: 2434
Joined: 08 May 2008, 21:10
Location: berlin, germany
Contact:

Re: What video WILL import into TVP?

Post by slowtiger » 09 May 2020, 19:51

Don't - use - Sörensen - Codec!
TVP 10.0.18, Mac Pro Quadcore 3 GHz, 16 GB RAM, OS 10.11, QT 7.7.3

User avatar
dgrantham
Posts: 68
Joined: 14 May 2008, 15:20

Re: What video WILL import into TVP?

Post by dgrantham » 09 May 2020, 23:19

Thanks ST. But really no Sorenson? Perhaps there are known issues with Sorenson?

It's the defacto exporter for avid which is i believe still the defacto standard nle editor in Hollywood. And it's the only one on my nle machine at this point. From what I can tell, it's specially setup to utilize a tiny QT reference file avid exports which Sorenson uses to render directly from the avid-encoded original ingested footage. I dont know if there's another alternative for exporting from Avid.

I will look into this.

Meanwhile if anyone has an emailable tiny HD clip which reliably imports into their TVP I would really appreciate it if I could arrange to get it via DM to rule out issues w my TVP installation.
TVPaint10Pro10.5.7-64bit : HPZ400, 6GB, NVidia Quadro 2000, Matrox MxO2/Lenovo Legion Laptop i7700 2.8Ghz GTX1050 16GB
TVPaint Android: Galaxy Note 12.1

User avatar
Xavier
Site Admin
Posts: 119
Joined: 01 Oct 2019, 11:08

Re: What video WILL import into TVP?

Post by Xavier » 10 May 2020, 22:03

Walimaï wrote:
09 May 2020, 18:27
I just registered on the forum for the exact same problem (with the bip and so on). (I have tvpaint pro 10 and windows 8.1)
The thing is that I had a file with an imported video, but I did the mistake to change location of the original file, and there is no video anymore in the layer, it's black.
So the video format was ok, the parameters of my tvpaint file was ok, but I can't import the video anymore, neither in a new project. I tried to put the video file back
but the problem is still there.
TVPaint doesn't even allow me to re upload the file, like in after effects or premiere. He simply suggest me to open another project.
What should I do?
Hi, please create a specific topic for that, the TVP support is here to help you !
awakened cow

User avatar
dgrantham
Posts: 68
Joined: 14 May 2008, 15:20

Re: What video WILL import into TVP?

Post by dgrantham » 11 May 2020, 01:52

Searching for reports of issues importing video from Sorenson into tvp or any other application, I come up with nothing. That leads me to assume that the issue may not be with video from Sorenson.

Xavier, can TVP support offer anything here?
TVPaint10Pro10.5.7-64bit : HPZ400, 6GB, NVidia Quadro 2000, Matrox MxO2/Lenovo Legion Laptop i7700 2.8Ghz GTX1050 16GB
TVPaint Android: Galaxy Note 12.1

Post Reply