make rectangle with specific size Topic is solved

Please use this part to report bugs & errors, ask questions & "How to..."
Post Reply
masathegeneral
Posts: 2
Joined: 06 May 2020, 20:49

make rectangle with specific size

Post by masathegeneral » 07 May 2020, 16:03

Hello. I am new to TV Paint, and I have a lot to learn. :shock: and also first time to use forum..
I am making a comp that is bigger than an actual size(1920x1080) that I am going to use, then would like to export out then crop and comp in After Effects later.
I would like to see the 1920x1080 framing though, so I figured I would make a 1920x1080 rectangle for framing.
Now I know that I can make a rectangle using the rectangle tool; however, I can't seem to find the way to make the rectangle with specific size.
Is there a way to make the rectangle with specific size? or any other way to make the framing reference?
Please let me know, thank you in advance!

User avatar
slowtiger
Posts: 2463
Joined: 08 May 2008, 21:10
Location: berlin, germany
Contact:

Re: make rectangle with specific size

Post by slowtiger » 07 May 2020, 17:44

I did it this way: in a 1920 x 1080 project, I filled a layer completely with colour. Then I modified the project to the bigger size, then used Border FX on the rectangle to create the outline.
TVP 10.0.18, Mac Pro Quadcore 3 GHz, 16 GB RAM, OS 10.11, QT 7.7.3

Svengali
Posts: 1309
Joined: 28 Dec 2006, 10:08
Contact:

Re: make rectangle with specific size

Post by Svengali » 07 May 2020, 18:11

Here's another way which uses the Grid Guideline...

Copy the script below (press SELECT ALL and copy it)

Create a new Action Button and open the Embedded George Script window.
Paste the script into Embedded George Script window.
Press OK to close the Embed window.
Name the script Border.
press OK to save the button.

Now, when you click the button, you will be offered two options in a Grid Visibility popup :
ON (turns on the 1920 x 1080 border, centered in the larger window)
OFF (turns off the border)

Code: Select all

tv_Request "Grid Visibility |ON |OFF"
Reply = result

IF Reply == 1

	tv_GetWidth
	Width = result
	tv_GetHeight
	Height = result

	BorderX = 1920
	BorderY =1080

	GridWidth = BorderX
	GridHeight = BorderY


	XOffset = (Width - GridWidth) / 2
	YOffset =( Height - GridHeight) / 2

	tv_GuideLineRemove "grid"
	tv_GuideLineAdd "grid" "x" XOffset "y" YOffset "w" GridWidth "h" GridHeight
	GLIndex = result
	
	tv_GuideLineVisible 1
	tv_GuideLineColor GLIndex 255 0 0 255

END

IF Reply == 0

	tv_GuideLineRemove  "grid"

END

sven
Last edited by Svengali on 07 May 2020, 22:03, edited 5 times in total.
Desktop: tvp Pro 11.0.10-64bit, Win8.1 - 24GB ram -2TB HHD - 256GB SSD - Wacom Cintiq 16, driver 6.3.36-1
Android Tablet: release 11, Samsung Galaxy Note10.1 - 32GB internal - microSD 32GB

User avatar
D.T. Nethery
Posts: 2614
Joined: 27 Sep 2006, 19:19

Re: make rectangle with specific size

Post by D.T. Nethery » 07 May 2020, 18:11

masathegeneral wrote:
07 May 2020, 16:03
I am making a comp that is bigger than an actual size(1920x1080) that I am going to use, then would like to export out then crop and comp in After Effects later.
I would like to see the 1920x1080 framing though, so I figured I would make a 1920x1080 rectangle for framing.
If using TVPaint Pro create a new project , 1920 x 1080, with Camera at 200% overscale , so overall size of project is 3840 x 2160 , but the Camera view will show 1920 x 1080.

If you want you can take the Rectangle tool and draw a rectangle field guide that matches the 1920 x 1080 camera view. Keep this on a separate layer that you can toggle on and off.
NewProject_with_Camera_200%.jpg
NewProject_with_Camera_200%.jpg (27.53 KiB) Viewed 3898 times
1920x1080_camera.jpg
1920x1080_camera_view.jpg
draw_1920x1080_rectangle.jpg

If you don't have TVPaint Pro with the Camera tool , then with TVPaint Standard you could go to the Guides and add the Field Guide , then use that to draw your 16:9 field guide using the rectangle tool.
Add Field Guide-Graticule from Guidelines.jpg
Draw rectangular field guide.jpg
.
MAC OS 10.12.6 , Macbook Pro Retina 15-inch, Mid 2015,
2.5 GHz Intel Core i7, 16 GB Memory , TVPaint PRO 11.0.8, 64bit -
Wacom Cintiq 21 UX - Wacom Intuos Pro 5 - driver version 6.3.20-8

masathegeneral
Posts: 2
Joined: 06 May 2020, 20:49

Re: make rectangle with specific size

Post by masathegeneral » 07 May 2020, 19:23

Thank you! I'm pretty new with TV paint, as I've been using photoshop for the longest time. this starting with 1920x1080 comp, then make the comp bigger after make the rectangle in, seems like the easiest and fastest way to go about. :)
Although I would think rectangle tool should have way to specify the size :roll:

User avatar
Hironori Takagi
Posts: 115
Joined: 14 May 2018, 10:15
Location: Tokyo, Japan
Contact:

Re: make rectangle with specific size

Post by Hironori Takagi » 08 May 2020, 09:23

I feel that the Sven method is the shortest way.
I will attach a manual method.
200508.png
TVPaint 11.0.9, Windows10 Pro, DELL Precision M3800 / Mac OS 10.15, Apple Mac Pro(Late 2013)

Post Reply