Saving project in quicktime compressed format?

A forum dedicated to George scripting questions
jeremyb
Posts: 31
Joined: 31 Jul 2020, 08:52

Re: Saving project in quicktime compressed format?

Post by jeremyb »

Code: Select all

tv_SaveMode "Mode=1010"
made a .dip file, not mov
WINDOWS 10 : 10.0.19044 Build 19044
TVPAINT : 11.5.3-64bit dec 3 2021
CPU : i9-9900
RAM : 64Go
CG: RTX 2080 SUPER 8go
User avatar
Thierry
Site Admin
Posts: 2744
Joined: 07 Jan 2013, 08:28

Re: Saving project in quicktime compressed format?

Post by Thierry »

jeremyb wrote: 03 Feb 2022, 10:23hum, not at all...still a question...because if i run this script i've got en .mov but is totaly white or black with NaN value...
same with mode=1015
I don't think this is doable in George at all, because as I've said previously in this topic, Mov/MP4 export was never made possible in George:
Thierry wrote: 03 Sep 2021, 17:38There isn't indeed, because the way we export in mov/mp4 is different from the other formats (due to some FFmpeg licensing rights).

It is stil on our radar to allow George export for those formats, but it won't be for 11.5.3.
Putting a mode in a parameter probably calls an ID in the code that says "choose this". As we never implemented the handling of various export modes, you won't be able to select one.

I should also add that this we no longer plan on adding Mov/MP4 export in George in the future, as we are working on an application that will allow multiple TVPP files to be exported in batch (including exporting in mov/mp4/mkv).
Si votre question a trouvé réponse, marquez votre sujet comme Résolu.
If your question has been answered, mark your topic as Solved.
User avatar
NathanOtano
Posts: 1187
Joined: 01 Apr 2014, 07:07
Location: Biarritz, France
Contact:

Re: Saving project in quicktime compressed format?

Post by NathanOtano »

I think exporting a compressed H264 file in George is a huge deal for pipeline purposes, especially remote ones where you need to be able to download/stream files quickly and save space on teh server/cloud. If we want to create a script for artists to export a specific preview for review, and we want to optimise the space on our server, we really need this do be able to be done from a panel inside tvpain. The other available video formats arn't as compressed

I am sorry to ask this again but it's a huge deal for our studio :(
Working on Windows 10
Creator of Disnosc, providing storyboard, animation and design for 2D realistic pictural animation: https://www.disnosc.fr/ - nathanotano@disnosc.fr
Highly interested in animation workflows, I'm open to scripting new TVP functions for individuals and studios.
User avatar
Hironori Takagi
Posts: 279
Joined: 14 May 2018, 10:15
Location: Tokyo, Japan
Contact:

Re: Saving project in quicktime compressed format?

Post by Hironori Takagi »

Xavier wrote: 27 Jan 2022, 15:15
Hironori Takagi wrote: 27 Jan 2022, 08:24 tv_SaveMode "Mode = 1015"
Have you been told by someone to do this ?

When trying to match the command result in the code, 1015 seems to activate the external saver aka FFmpeg.

You may try to use Mode=1010 instead, which would in theory activate the internal QT saver.
I don't remember when I created the code, but I think I understood it by parsing .grg in the settings folder after registering the export in the action and creating a custom panel. probably.
I will try "mode = 1010" later. thank you.
If this method is legally problematic, it may contain another problem to be solved.
Last edited by Hironori Takagi on 08 Feb 2022, 09:28, edited 1 time in total.
TVPaint 11.7.2(Nov 14 2023), Windows11 Pro, HP Spectre x360 Convertible 14-ea0xxx / TVPaint 11.7.1(Dec 22 2022) Mac OS 11.6, Apple MacBookPro M1 2020
User avatar
Hironori Takagi
Posts: 279
Joined: 14 May 2018, 10:15
Location: Tokyo, Japan
Contact:

Re: Saving project in quicktime compressed format?

Post by Hironori Takagi »

sorry, I posted it twice.
TVPaint 11.7.2(Nov 14 2023), Windows11 Pro, HP Spectre x360 Convertible 14-ea0xxx / TVPaint 11.7.1(Dec 22 2022) Mac OS 11.6, Apple MacBookPro M1 2020
jeremyb
Posts: 31
Joined: 31 Jul 2020, 08:52

Re: Saving project in quicktime compressed format?

Post by jeremyb »

I don't think this is doable in George at all, because as I've said previously in this topic, Mov/MP4 export was never made possible in George:

Code: Select all

FUNCTION exportMov()
    //init
    tv_LockDisplay "Export Mov..."
    tv_SaveMode "Mode=1015"	// MOV(FFmpeg)
    movPath = vfxPreviewPath"/"shot".mov"
    tv_ProjectSaveSequence movPath startingFrame LastImage
    tv_UnLockDisplay
END
On our last production, (tvpaint 11 on centos7) we released thousands MOV without any trouble. Strangely under windows, it's another story.
WINDOWS 10 : 10.0.19044 Build 19044
TVPAINT : 11.5.3-64bit dec 3 2021
CPU : i9-9900
RAM : 64Go
CG: RTX 2080 SUPER 8go
Post Reply